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Action Request Response 

Recommendation (Approve Tariff Sheets) 
The Utah Division of Public Utilities (Division) recommends that the Utah Public Service 

Commission (Commission) acknowledge Dixie Escalante Rural Electric Association, Inc.’s 

(Dixie) changes to its Retail Electric Rate tariff, and make them available for public inspection. 

Issue 
Dixie seeks to increase retail energy rates by $.0005 per kWh beginning February 2021. 

Background 
Dixie’s Board of Directors first approved this annual wholesale power cost adjustment in a board 

meeting held on June 5, 2012.  Notice was mailed out on May 23, 2012 and discussed in public 

meetings held at the Beryl Elementary School on June 5, 2012 and the Dixie Convention Center 

in St. George on June 6, 2012.  In its filing on February 1, 2013 Dixie notified the Commission 

that “These rates included an annual wholesale power cost adjustor clause, which Dixie is 
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implementing effective February 1, 2013.”  The Division recommended approval of those tariff 

sheets and the Commission acknowledged them on March 1, 2013.    

This current filing notifies the Commission of the rate change based on this “annual wholesale 

power cost adjuster clause.”  Dixie’s board will make this rate change effective February 1, 

2021.  Dixie filed notification of these changes with the Commission on January 12, 2021.  On 

that same day the Commission issued an Action Request to the Division to investigate the 

notification stating that it was due by January 27, 2021.  This is the Division’s response to that 

Action Request. 

Discussion   
Since the original notification to the Commission of Dixie’s wholesale power cost adjuster 

clause in 2013, Dixie’s customers were given ample notification of these proposed rate changes 

as specified in Utah Code 54-3-3 and 54-4-1.1.  Likewise, in the same filing the Commission 

was notified at least 30 days prior to the proposed effective rate change as required by 

Commission Rule (R 746-405-2-E.2) and Utah Code 54-3-3.  Dixie’s original “annual wholesale 

power cost adjuster clause” approved by the board in 2012 complies with Commission rule and 

Utah Code by notifying the Commission and customers at least 30 days prior to implementing 

any such rate change.   

The relevant clause in Dixie’s tariff states: “WHOLESALE POWER COST 

ADJUSTMENT:  The foregoing rates are based upon the Association's cost of purchased 

power.  The above rates are subject to the imposition of any purchased power adjustment either 

upward or downward which may be established and approved for billing from time to time under 

established procedures.” 

On January 12, 2021, Dixie filed with the Commission its revised retail electric rate schedules.  

In Dixie’s attached letter to the Commission it states that these rates reflect an increase of $.0005 

per kWh in retail energy rates. 

Dixie previously determined to keep retail rates simple by not implementing rate changes unless 

the year-over-year rate difference is at least $.0005 per kWh and that any rate adjustment would 
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be rounded to that number.  In 2020 the average wholesale power cost was $.04072 whereas for 

2019 the cost was $.0400 per kWh, with the difference being an increase of $.00072 year over 

year.  This is greater than the threshold mentioned above with the increase being rounded down 

to $.0005.   

The increases in Dixie’s rates per kWh are as follows:     

Title          Old Rate  New Rate  

Residential Energy Rate      $.0595  $.0600    

Small Commercial Energy Rate (0-60 amps)    $.0595  $.0600 

Small Commercial Energy Rate (50 kW max)   $.0545  $.0550 

Large Commercial Energy Rate     $.0295  $.0300 

Off-Peak        $.0295  $.0300 

Irrigation Energy Rate (over 100 kWh’s per H.P.)   $.0486  $.0491 

Interruptible Irrigation      $.0430  $.0435    

Utah High Density       $.026161 $.026661 

Utah Industrial       $.0255  $.0260 

 

Conclusion  
The Division recommends that the Commission acknowledge the revised tariff sheets with an 

effective date of February 1, 2021 and make them available for public inspection. 

 

Cc:  LaDel Laub, President and CEO, Dixie Escalante Electric Association. 
 Maria Wright, DPU Customer Service 
 Michele Beck, Office of Consumer Services 
 Jeff Peterson, Director, Utah REA 
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