

Governor SPENCER J. COX Lieutenant Governor

State of Utah Department of Commerce Division of Public Utilities

FRANCINE GIANI Executive Director GARY HERBERT. THOMAS BRADY Deputy Director CHRIS PARKER Director, Division of Public Utilities

MEMORANDUM

TO: Public Service Commission

- **FROM:** Division of Public Utilities Chris Parker, Division Director Marialie Wright, Customer Service Manager
- **DATE:** February 26, 2015
- **RE:** 15-057-02 In the matter of Formal Complaint of Matt McCandless vs. Questar Gas Company

Recommendation: Schedule a Hearing

Complaint Analysis:

On February 2, 2015, the Division of Public Utilities (Division) processed Mr. McCandless informal complaint against Questar Gas (Company). Mr. McCandless then complained to the Public Service Commission (Commission) about the Company's \$100 After-hours Reconnection Fee.

Mr. McCandless recently purchased a new home. He states that in the process of moving and transferring the various utilities into his name he neglected to transfer the gas. He adds that his gas service was shut off without warning from the Company. When he called the Company to reactivate his service, he was told that it would take one business day to get a technician to come on site or pay a \$100 dollar same day service fee.

He feels that the Company's same day reactivation service fee is an extortion. He asks the Commission to explain why this fee was approved.

Company Response:

Company's Consumer Affairs personnel, Elia Lopez responded to Mr. McCandless informal complaint. Ms. Lopez responds as follows:

"On January 22, 2015 the current account holder of 248 Fern Ave, Salt Lake City, UT contacted Questar Gas to request termination of his gas service. He stated that he had sold the property the month before. The shut-off order was scheduled for January 27th, and completed on January 29th.



When service is terminated at the request of the account holder, leaving notification at the premise is not required."

"Questar Gas relies on its customers to let us know of their intentions to move. We request a minimum of three-working-days notification to be able to meet the customer's desired date. All customers applying or transferring gas service are required to pay a non-negotiable connection fee. Enclosed is a copy of pages 8-8, 8-9, and 8-11 of the Utah Natural Gas Tariff explaining the process involved with each connection fee and the amount of the fee."

"The option of an after-hours connection has not always been available. It became available because customers were asking for an after-hours, same-day service and they were willing to pay for it. The cost of \$100 is not unreasonable when you consider it is an after-hours service call which includes travel time, vehicle/equipment usage, and labor costs. The payment collected pays only for these costs."

Division Review and Recommendation:

It is not apparent that the Company has violated any Commission Administrative Rules, Utah Law, court ruling, Commission ruling or the Company Tariff. However, Mr. McCandless asks the Commission to explain why the after-hours reconnection fee was approved. The Company's actions appear to comply with the Commission-approved tariff provisions. If the Commission wishes to change any policies as a result of Mr. McCandless's complaint, it should do so in an appropriate proceeding.