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ORDER 

 

 
ISSUED: April 15, 2019 

 
BACKGROUND AND THE APPLICATION 

A. The PSC’s approval of third-party billing  

 On July 28, 2017, in response to Dominion Energy Utah’s (DEU) application filed in 

Docket No. 17-057-T04, the Public Service Commission of Utah (PSC) approved DEU’s 

application for a new third-party billing tariff.1 The subject tariff is referenced at Section 8.08, 

Billing for Other Entities (i.e., Third-Party Billing), of DEU Utah Natural Gas Tariff No. 500 

(Tariff). The approved Third-Party Billing Tariff states in pertinent part: “On or before March 1 

of each year, [DEU] shall calculate the per-line rate and file a letter with the [PSC] reflecting the 

rate, to be effective on April 1 of each year.”2 

B. DEU’s current application 

 On March 21, 2019, DEU filed an application with the PSC proposing to update its 

Third-Party Billing Tariff (Application) with proposed rates taking effect May 1, 2019. The 

Application included an accompanying exhibit and updated Tariff Pages 8-18 and 8-19. The 

Application proposes to amend the Third-Party Billing rates presented in DEU’s Third-Party 

Billing Tariff, effective May 1, 2019. The Application indicates that at this time, no readily 

                                                           
1 See In the Matter of the Application of Dominion Energy Utah for Approval of a Third-Party Billing Rate (Order, 
issued July 28, 2017; Docket No. 17-057-T04). 
2 DEU Tariff at 8-19 (emphasis added). A current copy of DEU’s Tariff is available at: 
https://www.dominionenergy.com/library/domcom/media/home-and-small-business/gas-rates-and-tariffs/utah-
tariff.pdf?la=en&modified=20190409185011. 

https://www.dominionenergy.com/library/domcom/media/home-and-small-business/gas-rates-and-tariffs/utah-tariff.pdf?la=en&modified=20190409185011
https://www.dominionenergy.com/library/domcom/media/home-and-small-business/gas-rates-and-tariffs/utah-tariff.pdf?la=en&modified=20190409185011
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discernible market exists from which to derive a market price for third-party billing services. If 

approved, the Third-Party Billing minimum charge per bill will increase from $0.16219 to 

$0.16414, or 1.2 percent; likewise, the Third-Party Billing per-line charge above eleven lines 

will increase from $0.01474 to $0.01492, or 1.2 percent. The updated Third-Party Billing rates 

have been incorporated into Tariff Pages 8-18 and 8-19,3 and the Application states these 

proposed Tariff changes do not constitute a violation of a state law or PSC rule. 

 On March 25, 2019, the PSC issued a Notice of Filing and Comment Period allowing 

interested parties to submit comments on or before April 8, 2019. 

 On April 8, 2019, the Division of Public Utilities (DPU) filed comments in support of the 

Application.  

 No other party filed comments or otherwise opposed the Application, and the opportunity 

to do so has since elapsed.  

DPU’s RECOMMENDATION 

 The DPU states the proposed tariff sheets are accurate and it recommends the PSC 

approve them effective May 1, 2019. The DPU characterizes the reasons underlying the 

proposed increase in rates, including that fewer customers are receiving a paper bill (which will 

proportionally increase DEU’s fixed costs of sending paper bills). The DPU states it “is focused 

on ensuring that the stated costs and benefits of this proposed venture foist no burden, financial 

risk, or other costs onto ratepayers.”4 

                                                           
3 See DEU’s Application, Exhibits 1.2 (clean and legislative copies). 
4 DPU Comments at 3, ¶ 4, filed April 8, 2019. 
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 Regarding DEU’s March 21, 2019 filing date, the DPU asserts DEU has failed to comply 

with the requirement set forth in Section 8.08 of its Tariff, to file its Application “on or before 

March 1.” The DPU explains that it discussed this delay with DEU, who claimed there was no 

harm caused by its late filing because this simply involves an intercompany bill from DEU to its 

affiliate, Dominion Products and Services, and the April bill will not be sent until after the PSC 

approves the proposed rate. Summarizing this issue, the DPU explains: 

…by having the invoice for April sent in May, neither the Third-Party Billing 
customer nor [DEU] will be harmed because the appropriate amount will be 
invoiced for the proper time period. The [DPU] acknowledges that any problem 
this delay may potentially cause can be mitigated by [DEU’s] affiliate relationship 
with the Third-Party Billing customer. Likewise, neither will this delay have a[ny 
noticeable] harmful impact on [DEU’s] ratepayers[.]5 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 In our July 28, 2017 Order in Docket No. 17-057-T046 we stated: “the third-party billing 

services [DEU] seeks to offer will serve to reduce costs (i.e., billing expenses) for [DEU]’s 

natural gas customers.”7 Based on information presented in DEU’s Application in this docket, 

the DPU’s recommendation, and there being no objection to the Application, we find the rates 

proposed are just and reasonable, and conclude that they continue to serve the public interest. 

Accordingly, we approve the proposed changes to DEU’s Tariff Pages 8-18 and 8-19, effective 

May 1, 2019.  

                                                           
5 Id. at 2, ¶ 2. 
6 See supra n.1 (Order, issued July 28, 2017). 
7 Id. at 2. 
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 We conclude DEU’s explanation provided to DPU that “the [intercompany] bill for April 

won’t go out until after the [PSC] approves the rate”8 is inconsistent with Utah law prohibiting 

charges from varying from tariff schedules. As set forth in Utah Code Ann. § 54-3-7, “no public 

utility shall charge . . . different compensation . . . for any service rendered . . . than the rates . . . 

applicable . . . as specified in [the utility’s] schedules on file and in effect at the time[.]”  

 DEU must calculate billing based on the services provided at the rates in place during 

that period for which those services were provided. See Utah Code Ann. § 54-3-7. The record 

before us is unclear whether or, the extent to which, DEU’s natural gas customers are affected by 

DEU’s tardy filing. Therefore we direct DEU to ensure natural gas customers are credited for 

any difference had the Third-Party Billing rates properly taken effect on April 1, 2019 rather than 

May 1, 2019. 

ORDER 

 Therefore, we: 

1) Approve the Application as filed; 

2) Approve, as filed, Tariff Pages 8-18 and 8-19, effective May 1, 2019; 

3) Direct DEU to comply with Section 54-3-7 and to ensure natural gas 

customers are credited for any difference had the third-party billing rate 

properly taken effect on April 1, 2019 rather than May 1, 2019.  

DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah, April 15, 2019. 

 
/s/ Thad LeVar, Chair 
 

                                                           
8 Supra n.4 at 2, ¶ 2. 
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/s/ David R. Clark, Commissioner 
 
 
/s/ Jordan A. White, Commissioner 

 
Attest: 
 
 
/s/ Gary L. Widerburg 
PSC Secretary 
DW#307659 
 
 
 
 
 

Notice of Opportunity for Agency Review or Rehearing 
 

 Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §§ 63G-4-301 and 54-7-15, a party may seek agency review 
or rehearing of this written order by filing a request for review or rehearing with the PSC within 
30 days after the issuance of the order. Responses to a request for agency review or rehearing 
must be filed within 15 days of the filing of the request for review or rehearing. If the PSC fails 
to grant a request for review or rehearing within 20 days after the filing of a request for review or 
rehearing, it is deemed denied. Judicial review of the PSC’s final agency action may be obtained 
by filing a Petition for Review with the Utah Supreme Court within 30 days after final agency 
action. Any Petition for Review must comply with the requirements of Utah Code Ann. §§ 63G-
4-401, 63G-4-403, and the Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure. 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 

 I CERTIFY that on April 15, 2019, a true and correct copy of the foregoing was served 
upon the following as indicated below: 
    
By Electronic-Mail: 
 
Kelly Mendenhall (kelly.mendenhall@dominionenergy.com) 
Jenniffer N. Clark (jenniffer.clark@dominionenergy.com) 
Dominion Energy Utah 
 
Patricia Schmid (pschmid@agutah.gov) 
Justin Jetter (jjetter@agutah.gov) 
Robert Moore (rmoore@agutah.gov) 
Steven Snarr (stevensnarr@agutah.gov) 
Assistant Utah Attorneys General 
 
Erika Tedder (etedder@utah.gov) 
Division of Public Utilities 
 
By Hand-Delivery: 
 
Office of Consumer Services 
160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111 

_________________________________ 
Administrative Assistant 
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