- BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF UTAH -

Dominion Energy Utah's Annual Calculation of the Third-Party Billing Rate and Request for Tariff Change

DOCKET NO. 20-057-T02

<u>ORDER</u>

ISSUED: March 17, 2020

BACKGROUND AND THE APPLICATION

A. The Public Service Commission's (PSC) approval of third-party billing

In response to an application filed by Dominion Energy Utah (DEU), the PSC granted DEU's request to establish a third-party billing tariff in Docket No. 17-057-T04 on July 28, 2017 ("Order Establishing Third-Party Billing").¹ The subject provision is referenced at Section 8.08, Billing for Other Entities (*i.e.*, Third-Party Billing, or TPB), of DEU Utah Natural Gas Tariff No. 500 ("Tariff"). The approved TPB Tariff states in pertinent part: "*On or before March 1 of each year*, [DEU] shall calculate the per-line rate and file a letter with the [PSC] reflecting the rate, to be effective on April 1 of each year."²

B. DEU's current application

Pursuant to the approved TPB Tariff, on February 25, 2020, DEU filed the instant, uncontested application ("Application") to revise DEU's current effective TPB rates, with accompanying evidence of its TPB cost calculation and revised Tariff pages 8-18 through 8-19.³ This filing represents the second TPB rate change update request since we issued our Order Establishing Third Party Billing, and the Application requests the revised rates take effect on

¹ See In the Matter of the Application of Dominion Energy Utah for Approval of a Third-Party Billing Rate (Order, issued July 28, 2017; Docket No. 17-057-T04).

² DEU Tariff at 8-19 (emphasis added). A current copy of DEU's Tariff is available at: <u>https://www.dominionenergy.com/library/domcom/media/home-and-small-business/gas-rates-and-tariffs/utah-tariff.pdf?la=en&modified=20190409185011</u>.

³ See DEU Exhibit 1.0 (Third-Party Billing Calculation), and DEU Exhibits 1.02A (Legislative Tariff) and 1.02B (Proposed Tariff).

- 2 -

April 1, 2020. If approved, the TPB minimum charge per bill will increase from \$0.16414 to \$0.16531, or by 0.7 percent; likewise, the TPB per-line charge above eleven lines will increase from \$0.01492 to \$0.01503, or 0.7 percent. The updated TPB rates have been incorporated into Tariff pages 8-18 and 8-19,⁴ and the Application states these proposed Tariff changes do not constitute a violation of a state law or PSC rule.

On February 26, 2020, the PSC issued a Notice of Filing and Comment Period. On March 11, 2020, the Division of Public Utilities (DPU) filed comments in support of the Application. No other party filed comments.

DPU's RECOMMENDATION

DPU states it reviewed DEU's billing cost calculations pertaining to the revised TPB rate, explained certain cost movements since DEU's last TPB rate adjustment filing, and affirms that overall costs are moving in a direction DPU anticipates. DPU indicates the proposed tariff sheets are accurate and its review of the Application detected no issues in this filing. Accordingly, DPU recommends the PSC approve the proposed TPB rates as filed, effective April 1, 2020.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Our Order Establishing Third-Party Billing states, "the third-party billing services [DEU] seeks to offer will serve to reduce costs (*i.e.*, billing expenses) for [DEU]'s natural gas customers,"⁵ and, "... both the OCS and DPU agree the stipulated cost calculation represents the best available method for setting the third-party billing rates."⁶ Based on our review of the

 ⁴ See DEU's Application, DEU Exhibits 1.02A and 1.02B (clean and legislative copies).
⁵ Supra n.1 at 2.

⁶ *Id.* at 3.

- 3 -

Application, DPU's recommendations in this docket, and there being no opposition to DEU's request, we find the Application complies with the Tariff and pertinent PSC orders, rules and procedures, and the proposed rates are just and reasonable. Accordingly, we approve the proposed changes to DEU's Tariff pages 8-18 and 8-19, effective April 1, 2020.

ORDER

Therefore, we:

1) Approve the Application as filed;

2) Approve, as filed, Tariff pages 8-18 and 8-19, effective April 1, 2020.

DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah, March 17, 2020.

/s/ Thad LeVar, Chair

/s/ David R. Clark, Commissioner

/s/ Jordan A. White, Commissioner

Attest:

/s/ Gary L. Widerburg PSC Secretary DW#312564

- 4 -

Notice of Opportunity for Agency Review or Rehearing

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §§ 63G-4-301 and 54-7-15, a party may seek agency review or rehearing of this written order by filing a request for review or rehearing with the PSC within 30 days after the issuance of the order. Responses to a request for agency review or rehearing must be filed within 15 days of the filing of the request for review or rehearing. If the PSC fails to grant a request for review or rehearing within 20 days after the filing of a request for review or rehearing, it is deemed denied. Judicial review of the PSC's final agency action may be obtained by filing a Petition for Review with the Utah Supreme Court within 30 days after final agency action. Any Petition for Review must comply with the requirements of Utah Code Ann. §§ 63G-4-401, 63G-4-403, and the Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure.

- 5 -

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I CERTIFY that on March 17, 2020, a true and correct copy of the foregoing was delivered upon the following as indicated below:

By Email:

Kelly Mendenhall (<u>kelly.mendenhall@dominionenergy.com</u>) Jenniffer Nelson Clark (<u>jenniffer.clark@dominionenergy.com</u>) Dominion Energy Utah

Patricia Schmid (<u>pschmid@agutah.gov</u>) Justin Jetter (jjetter@agutah.gov) Robert Moore (<u>rmoore@agutah.gov</u>) Victor Copeland (<u>vcopeland@agutah.gov</u>) Assistant Utah Attorneys General

Madison Galt (<u>mgalt@utah.gov</u>) Division of Public Utilities

Cheryl Murray (<u>cmurray@utah.gov</u>) Office of Consumer Services

Administrative Assistant