Dominion Energy Utah's Annual Calculation of the Third-Party Billing Rate and Request for Tariff Change

DOCKET NO. 21-057-T03

ORDER

ISSUED: March 23, 2021

BACKGROUND

On March 1, 2021, Dominion Energy Utah (DEU) filed an application ("Application"), including third-party billing ("TPB") rate cost calculations and revised Utah Natural Gas Tariff No. 500 ("Tariff"), pages 8-17 and 8-18,¹ with the Public Service Commission (PSC), seeking to revise its currently effective TPB rates, effective April 1, 2021.

DEU filed the Application consistent with the PSC's order approving TPB rates and the corresponding section(s) in the Tariff, in Docket No. 17-057-T04 ("Order Establishing Third-Party Billing").² Specifically, Section 8-08 of the Tariff, titled "Billing for Other Entities" (*i.e.*, Third-Party Billing, or TPB), states in pertinent part:

"On or before March 1 of each year, [DEU] shall calculate the per-line rate and file a letter with the [PSC] reflecting the rate, to be effective on April 1 of each year."

If approved, the TPB minimum charge per bill will decrease from \$0.16531 to \$0.14705, or approximately 11 percent. In addition, the TPB per-line charge above eleven lines will decrease from \$0.01503 to \$0.01337, or approximately 11 percent, as updated in Tariff page 8-18.⁴ The

¹ See DEU Exhibit 1.01 (Calculation of Per-Line Billing Rate), and DEU Exhibit 1.02 (Legislative and Proposed Tariffs).

² See In the Matter of the Application of Dominion Energy Utah for Approval of a Third-Party Billing Rate, Docket No. 17-057-T04, Order, issued July 28, 2017.

³ DEU Tariff at 8-18 (emphasis added). A current copy of DEU's Tariff is available at: https://psc.utah.gov/gas/gas-information/.

⁴ See DEU's Application, DEU Exhibit 1.02 (Legislative and Proposed Tariffs).

DOCKET NO. 21-057-T03

- 2 -

Application also states that the proposed Tariff changes do not constitute a violation of a state law or PSC rule.

On March 2, 2021, the PSC issued a Notice of Filing and Comment Period. On March 12, 2021, the Division of Public Utilities (DPU) filed comments in support of the Application, and no other party filed comments.

DPU's RECOMMENDATION

DPU states it reviewed DEU's billing cost calculations pertaining to the revised TPB rates and explained certain cost movements since DEU's last TPB rate adjustment filing. DPU indicates the proposed tariff sheets are accurate and that its review of the Application detected no issues. Accordingly, DPU recommends the PSC approve the proposed TPB rates as filed, effective April 1, 2021.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Our Order Establishing Third-Party Billing states, "the third-party billing services [DEU] seeks to offer will serve to reduce costs (*i.e.*, billing expenses) for [DEU]'s natural gas customers," and, "... both the [Office of Consumer Services] and DPU agree the stipulated cost calculation represents the best available method for setting the third-party billing rates." Based on our review of the Application, DPU's recommendations in this docket, and there being no opposition to DEU's request, we find 1) the Application, the proposed TPB rates, and the proposed changes to Sections 8-17 and 8-18 of the Tariff comply with our Order Establishing Third-Party Billing, and 2) the proposed TPB rates are just and reasonable.

⁵ Supra n.2 at 2.

⁶ *Id.* at 3.

DOCKET NO. 21-057-T03

- 3 -

ORDER

Accordingly, we approve the revised TPB rates and the corresponding changes to DEU's Tariff Sections 8-17 and 8-18, as filed in the Application, effective April 1, 2021.

DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah, March 23, 2021.

/s/ David R. Clark, Commissioner

/s/ Ron Allen, Commissioner

Attest:

/s/ Gary L. Widerburg PSC Secretary DW#317920

Notice of Opportunity for Agency Review or Rehearing

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §§ 63G-4-301 and 54-7-15, a party may seek agency review or rehearing of this written order by filing a request for review or rehearing with the PSC within 30 days after the issuance of the order. Responses to a request for agency review or rehearing must be filed within 15 days of the filing of the request for review or rehearing. If the PSC fails to grant a request for review or rehearing within 30 days after the filing of a request for review or rehearing, it is deemed denied. Judicial review of the PSC's final agency action may be obtained by filing a Petition for Review with the Utah Supreme Court within 30 days after final agency action. Any Petition for Review must comply with the requirements of Utah Code Ann. §§ 63G-4-401, 63G-4-403, and the Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure.

DOCKET NO. 21-057-T03

- 4 -

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I CERTIFY that on March 23, 2021, a true and correct copy of the foregoing was delivered upon the following as indicated below:

By Email:

Kelly Mendenhall (<u>kelly.mendenhall@dominionenergy.com</u>)
Jenniffer Nelson Clark (<u>jenniffer.clark@dominionenergy.com</u>)
Dominion Energy Utah

Patricia Schmid (pschmid@agutah.gov)
Justin Jetter (jjetter@agutah.gov)
Robert Moore (rmoore@agutah.gov)
Assistant Utah Attorneys General

Madison Galt (<u>mgalt@utah.gov</u>) Division of Public Utilities

Alyson Anderson (<u>akanderson@utah.gov</u>)
Bela Vastag (<u>bvastag@utah.gov</u>)
Alex Ware (<u>aware@utah.gov</u>)
(<u>ocs@utah.gov</u>)
Office of Consumer Services

Administrative Assistant