| - BEFORE THE PUBLIC SER | RVICE COMMISSION OF UTAH - |
|--|--|
| In the Matter of the Proposed Rule Change for R746-200-05 Deferred Payment Agreement |) DOCKET NO. 06-R200-01) NOTICE OF TECHNICAL CONFERENCE) |
| | |
| | ISSUED: May 3, 2006 |

By The Commission:

On April 7, 2006, the Division of Public Utilities ("Division") filed a memorandum stating the Division had engaged in discussions with Questar Gas Company ("Questar"), Utah Power and Light ("Utah Power"), and the Utah Cooperatives concerning proposed revisions to Commission Rule 746-200-5, *Deferred Payment Agreement*. A copy of the proposed rule resulting from these discussions is attached to this Notice.

Therefore, **notice** is hereby given that a **Technical Conference** will be held at **1:30 p.m., Thursday, May 18, 2006**, Room #427, Fourth Floor of the Heber M. Wells State Office Building, 160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, Utah. The purpose of this Conference is to provide those who have proposed the Rule changes an opportunity to explain those changes and to provide a forum for all interested parties to discuss this matter.

Individuals wishing to participate by telephone should contact the Commission at (801) 530-6716 or toll-free 1-866-PSC-UTAH (1-866-772-8824) at least two days prior to the Conference to make arrangements. Participants attending by telephone should then call the Public Service Commission five minutes prior to the beginning of the Conference to ensure participation.

DOCKET NO. 06-R200-01

-2-

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations (including auxiliary communicative aids and services) during the Conference should notify the Commission, at 160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, Utah, 84111, (801) 530-6716, at least three working days prior to the Conference.

DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah this 3rd day of May, 2006.

/s/ Julie Orchard Commission Secretary G#48827

R746-200-5 Deferred Payment Agreement

- A. Deferred Payment Agreement -
- 1. An applicant or account holder who cannot pay a delinquent account balance on demand shall have the right to receive residential utility service under a deferred payment agreement subject to R746-200-5(B), Breachf
- 2. Gas and electric utilities shall have personnel available 24 hours each day to reconnect utility service, if, before reconnection, the account holder agrees to negotiate and execute a deferred payment agreement and to pay the first installment by visiting the utility's business office within 48 hours after service has been reconnected. A water utility shall have personnel available so that service can be restored before 6:00 p.m. on the next generally recognized business day.
- 2. [3. The]An applicant or account holder shall have the right to set the amount of the equal pay monthly installment of a deferred payment agreement, if the full amount of the delinquent balance plus interest [shall be] is paid within 12 months and if the account holder agrees to make an initial payment not less than the amount of the monthly installment. The account holder shall have the right to pre-pay the outstanding balance due under a deferred payment agreement at any time during the term of the agreement. The account holder also has the option, when negotiating a deferred agreement, to include the amount of the current month's bill [plus the reconnection charges]in the total amount to be paid over the term of the deferred payment agreement.
- <u>3.</u> <u>4.</u> If a utility has a budget billing or equal payment plan available, it shall offer the account holder the option of agreeing to pay the current bills for residential utility service plus the monthly installment necessary to liquidate the delinquent bill or of agreeing to pay a budget billing amount set by the utility plus the monthly deferred payment installment. When negotiating a deferred payment agreement with a utility that does not offer a budget billing plan, the account holder shall agree to pay the current bills for residential utility service plus the monthly installment necessary to liquidate the delinquent bill. <u>If the utility offers an applicant a twelve month deferred payment agreement and the applicant chooses a shorter term, the option of the twelve month payment plan is forfeited.</u>
- <u>4.</u> 5. The terms of the deferred payment agreement shall be set forth in a written agreement, a copy of which shall be provided to the customer.
- <u>5.</u> 6. A deferred payment agreement may include a finance charge as [established] approved by the Commission. If a finance charge is assessed, the deferred payment agreement shall contain notice of the charge.
- B. Breach If an applicant or account holder breaches a condition or term of a deferred payment agreement, the public utility may treat that breach as a delinquent account and shall have the right to disconnect service pursuant to these rules, subject to the right of the customer to seek review of the alleged breach by the Commission, and the account holder shall not have the right to a renewal of the deferred payment agreement. Renewal of deferred payment agreements after the breach shall be at the utility's option discretion. A deferred payment agreement on a delinquent account balance that is the result of unauthorized usage of, or diversion of, residential utility service is at the utilities discretion.

R746-200-7 Reconnection of Disconnected Service

- 1. Public utilities shall have personnel available 24 hours each day to reconnect utility service. Service shall be reconnected as soon as possible, but no later than the next generally recognized business day after the utility's conditions are satisfied and the customer requests reconnection.
- 2. Reconnection fee and deferred payment agreement requirements must be paid upfront if applicable before service is reconnected.
- 3. The utility shall inform the customer of any additional charge for after hour's service prior to the reconnection.

Renumbering as follows:

R746-200-7 Informal Review will become R746-200-8
R746-200-8 Formal Agency Proceedings Based Upon Complaint Review will become R746-200-9

R746-200-9 Penalties will become R746-200-10

R746-200-3 Deposits, Eligibility for Service, and Shared Meter or Appliance A. Deposits and Guarantees

4. If a customer requests service be restored after hours, charges may be applicable as provided in utility tariff.