- BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF UTAH -In the Matter of the Formal Complaint of R.) Darren Christenson vs. Questar Gas) Company) ORDER OF DISMISSAL

ISSUED: May 26, 2010

By The Commission:

This matter is before the Commission on the formal complaint of R. Darron Christensen against Questar Gas Company. Mr. Christenson owns the Basin Best Apartments in Vernal, Utah. He received a bill for \$76.99 for service at one of his units. He noted that the gas service for the tenants in that unit had been plugged, but that the tenants unplugged and stole the gas service. The bill is from August 2008. Mr. Christenson does not have a landlord agreement with Questar, which would allow Questar to put service in his name between tenants.

The Division of Public Utilities (Division) submitted its recommendation on May 17, 2010. It recommended dismissal of this complaint. It made its recommendation because the Company removed the amount in dispute from Mr. Christenson's account. This removal was based, purportedly, on the Commission order in *the Matter of the Formal Complaint of Drew Christenson vs. Questar Gas Company, Docket No. 10-057-01.*¹ Given the removal of the amount from Mr. Christenson's account, the Commission assumes the basis for a formal complaint no longer exists.

¹ In summary, the Commission found that a property owner—absent a contract for service, and absent any evidence that he obtained the gas service by "deception, tampering, or other means designed to avoid" payment or the gas service, is not a customer merely because he is the property owner. *Id. at p.4.*

DOCKET NO. 10-057-02

-2-

ORDER

For the foregoing reasons, and based on the Division's representations, the formal complaint is dismissed with prejudice.

Pursuant to Sections 63G-4-301 and 54-7-15 of the Utah Code, an aggrieved party may request agency review or rehearing of this Order by filing a written request with the Commission within 30 days after the issuance of this Order. Responses to a request for agency review or rehearing must be filed within 15 days of the filing of the request for review or rehearing. If the Commission does not grant a request for review or rehearing within 20 days after the filing of the request, it is deemed denied. Judicial review of the Commission's final agency action may be obtained by filing a petition for review with the Utah Supreme Court within 30 days after final agency action. Any petition for review must comply with the requirements of Sections 63G-4-401 and 63G-4-403 of the Utah Code and the Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure.

DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah this 26th day of May, 2010.

<u>/s/ Ruben H. Arredondo</u> Administrative Law Judge

DOCKET NO. 10-057-02

-3-

Approved and confirmed this 26th day of May, 2010 as the Report and Order of

the Public Service Commission of Utah.

/s/ Ted Boyer, Chairman

/s/ Ric Campbell, Commissioner

/s/ Ron Allen, Commissioner

Attest:

<u>/s/ Julie Orchard</u> Commission Secretary g#66865