BLACKBURN & STOLL, LC

Brett N. Anderson Kristy L. Bertelsen Michael D. Blackburn Mark D. Dean Michael E. Dyer Bret A. Gardner Bryce D. Panzer Dori K. Petersen Dena C. Sarandos Pete B. Sarandos Kira M. Slawson Scott R. Taylor

Robert H. Wilde

Attorneys at Law 257 East 200 South, Suite 800 Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2142 Telephone (801) 521-7900 Fax (801) 521-7965

Kira M. Slawson Direct Phone (801) 578-3578 Direct Fax (801) 578-3579 kslawson@blackburn-stoll.com

May 23, 2016

Public Service Commission of Utah Heber M. Wells Building 160 East 300 South 4th Floor Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Re: Docket 16-052-T01

To the Commission:

In accordance with Utah Code Annotated Section 54-7-12(7) and R746-405 and pursuant to the Public Service Commission's ("Commission's") Notice of Requirement to File a Petition to Amend Tariff or to Deviate from the Utah Affordable Base Rate issued April 18, 2016, Docket No. 16-R360-01 ("Commission's Notice"), South Central Utah Telephone Association, Inc. ("South Central") hereby files the original and five copies of the following:

- 1. The 6th Revised Sheet No. 22, canceling the 5th Revised Sheet No. 22 of South Central's Local Access Tariff on file with the Commission;
- 2. The 1st Revised Sheet No. 56, canceling the Original Sheet No. 56 of South Central's Local Access Tariff on file with the Commission.

The Board of Directors of South Central has, pursuant to Utah Code Annotated Section 54-7-12(7), approved a rate increase for the Basic Residential (R-1) Service from \$16.50 per month to \$18.00 per month; for Basic Business Service from \$26.00 per month to \$27.50 per month; and for Teen Line Service from \$12.38 per month to \$18.00 per month. The rate increases are necessitated by the FCC's requirement that companies that receive high cost loop support charge a benchmark local rate (including State subscriber line charges, State Universal Support, and mandatory extended area service) of at least \$18.00 beginning June 1, 2016 to continue receiving the same high cost loop support.

Additionally, as the Commission is aware, the Commission's Notice requires companies to charge an "Affordable Base Rate" of \$18.00 per month for residential service and \$27.50 per

month for business service or file a Petition for Deviation from the Affordable Base Rate to be eligible for State Universal Service Funds.

South Central held a duly noticed Public Meeting on May 17, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the rate increase necessitated by the FCC and the Commission. Therefore, all of the requirements of Utah Code Ann. Section 54-7-12(7) have been met prior to the implementation of the new rates. The tariff sheets as proposed do not constitute a violation of state law or Commission rule.

South Central respectfully requests, in accordance with R746-405-2(E)(3), that the Commission waive the 30 day notice period and that the tariff become effective June 1, 2016 as contemplated in the Commission's Notice, Docket 16-R360-01.

Sincerely,

BLACKBURN & STOLL, LC

Kira M. Slawson

Enclosures

cc: Michael East Stephen Jantz