n the Matter of the Request of Highland	)	DOCKET NO. 09-010-01
Water Co. for Approval of a Rate Increase,	)	
Re: Late Payment Service Charge and Returned Check Fee	)	REPORT AND ORDER
	)	REFORT AND ORDER

By The Commission:

This matter is before the Commission on Highland Water Company's (Company) Request for approval of a rate increase. The Commission recently approved a rate increase for the Company in Docket No. 08-010-01. Shortly after the Commission approved the rate increase, the Company sent letters to the Commission requesting additional items which it neglected to add to its tariff in the 2008 docket, including a late payment service charge, a returned-check fee, and supplementary water fee and supplementary water rate<sup>1</sup>.

The Commission sent an action request to the Division of Public Utilities and the Division responded on July 16, 2009. It recommended approval of those items, and their addition as tariff amendments.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> "From time to time the Company is asked to provide a service of supplementary water. Supplementary water is defined as metered water from a fire hydrant or other temporary meter. In order to provide this service, a fire hydrant assembly costing \$1,000 is required. In addition providing a supplementary connection can have quite an extensive impact on the system should the service be provided for an extended amount of time. There is a requirement to set up the temporary meter, make adjustments to the water flow and monitor the water system during this type of service. The Company requested \$100.00 supplementary water set up and take down fee, a refundable \$1,000 security deposit to prevent theft or misuse of the meter, and a supplementary water rate for the supplementary water used of \$5.00 per thousand gallons." *Division Recommendation*, p.3.

Therefore, finding good cause appearing for the approval of the tariff amendments as requested by the Company, and finding the request in the public interest, the Commission hereby approves the following rate increases/tariff amendments:

- 1. Late payment fee: A late fee of \$10.00 or interest service fee of 1.5% per month, whichever is greater;
- 2. Non-sufficient funds or returned check fee: A fee of \$20.00 per incident;
- 3. Supplementary water deposit, fee and rate: A \$100 supplementary water set-up, a \$100 water take- down fee, a refundable \$1,000 security deposit, and supplementary water rate of \$5.00 per thousand gallons.

Pursuant to Sections 63G-4-301 and 54-7-15 of the Utah Code, an aggrieved party may request agency review or rehearing of this Order by filing a written request with the Commission within 30 days after the issuance of this Order. Responses to a request for agency review or rehearing must be filed within 15 days of the filing of the request for review or rehearing. If the Commission does not grant a request for review or rehearing within 20 days after the filing of the request, it is deemed denied. Judicial review of the Commission's final agency action may be obtained by filing a petition for review with the Utah Supreme Court within 30 days after final agency action. Any petition for review must comply with the requirements of Sections 63G-4-401 and 63G-4-403 of the Utah Code and the Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure.

## DOCKET NO. 09-010-01

-3-

DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah this 5th day of August, 2009.

/s/ Ruben H. Arredondo Administrative Law Judge

Approved and confirmed this  $5^{th}$  day of August, 2009 as the Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah.

/s/ Ted Boyer, Chairman

/s/ Ric Campbell, Commissioner

/s/ Ron Allen, Commissioner

Attest:

/s/ Julie Orchard Commission Secretary