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Utah Public Service Commission 
Box 146751 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84144-6751 

RE: Hidden Creek Water Company request for rate increase 

Dear Commission, 

Hidden Creek Water Company (the "Company") became an approved drinking 
water source through the Utah State Division of Environmental Quality Division of 
Drinking Water in May 1998.  The Company has maintained the approved status by 
complying with State and Federal regulations and the changes in the Safe Drinking 
Water Act. The Company was granted a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity to 
operate as a water corporation on November 23, 1998. 

Described below you will find an analysis of the Company's projected annual 
operating costs for 2010. 

This proposed rate increase will be the first one in eleven (11) years of operation. 
It is long overdue and has reached a point that needs immediate attention. It is hoped 
that the Company can expedite this as soon as possible. 

The proposed change in the rate structure is designed to accomplish 3 objectives 
for the Company: 1) cover the total cost to provide water including asset depreciation 
and debt service; 2) promote conservation of the water resource; 3) prevent the over 
appropriation of water rights (therefore use of over 65,000 gallons a month during the 
outside watering season is charged a significantly higher rate). 

The significant changes in operation costs projected for 2010 include payment for 
a water master/system manager, debt service, depreciation expense and payment for 
replacement of the 1&1/2 hp pump at the pump house. 

Proposed Water Rate Schedule 

The Company's present rate charge (includes up to 6,400 gallons) is $38.00 per 
month ($5.00 plus $33 access charge) and has been in place since the inception of 
charges to customers. The Company charges $ .783 per 1,000 gallons overage per 
month. A stand-by fee of $20.00 per month is charged for those lots that are approved 
for access to connect to the water system. 

The Company's current rate structure is grossly inadequate to cover the total 
cost to provide water consistent with the requirements of the Division of Drinking Water. 

Although the proposed rate increase and structure represent a substantial 
increase to the ratepayers and may be high in relation to other water utilities, it is 
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warranted due to the very small size of the current total connections available 
(approximately 51) on the system. The economy of scale as related to the number of 
ratepayers to cover the system's costs of operation and maintenance, repairs, 
regulatory requirements as related to water quality and debt service is therefore not as 
efficient as systems with larger ratepayer bases. 

Because of the very small number of metered ratepayers (18) it is proposed to 
eliminate the previous stand-by fee aspect of the current rate structure in favor of a 
minimum monthly charge for all ratepayers which have the equal benefit of immediate 
access to drinking water. Other wise, the cost burden for the current 18 metered 
ratepayers would be extraordinary. 

The proposed minimum monthly charge includes a substantial increase to 12,000 
gallons/month which is consistent with the Utah Division of Water Rights allocation of 
.45 acre feet of water for inside domestic use and which is required to be available to all 
residential lots for inside use by Utah County zoning ordinance. The Company thinks it 
is appropriate that the required minimum amount of water mandated to be allocated/ 
available/provided to each lot should cover the fixed costs of the Company to provide it. 

The proposed overage charge of $6.50 per 1000 gallons over a use of 65,000 
gallons in a month encourages water conservation during the outside watering season 
while discouraging all ratepayers from causing the water company to over appropriate 
it's water rights. 

The Company also proposes changes to it's current Rules and Regulations as 
outlined in Exhibit A attached hereto. 

Proposed Water Rate Schedule: 

Minimum Monthly Charge: $130.00 ($.010 per gallon) 
(includes 12,000 gallons) 

12,001 - 27,000 gallons $4.00 per 1000 gallons 
27,001 - 65,000 gallons $4.50 per 1000 gallons 
65,001 gallons or more $6.50 per 1000 gallons 
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Cost of Operation 
12 Month Period 
Ending 6-30-09 

Projected Costs 
Year 2010 

Contractual Services:Billing $ 2,400.00 $ 2,400.00 
Contractual Services:Professional 4,800.00 8,400.00 
Contractual Services:Testing  1,200.00 
Contractual Services:Legal 125.00 500.00 
Contractual Services:Maintenance/Repairs  1,500.00 
Dues & Subscriptions 155.00 155.00 
Insurance*   
Interest Expense 19,040.00 38,080.00 
Miscellaneous Expense 1,263.64 1,200.00 
Purchased Power 6,084.55 7,500.00 
Equipment Repairs/Maintenance 247.50 7,500.00** 
Office Supplies 800.42 500.00 
Other Supplies 99.74 250.00 
Water Right Fees 213.50 225.00 
Water Testing 2,085.00 900.00 

Totals $37,314.35 $70,310.00 

Actual Revenue 16,169.78  
Projected 2010 Revenues (at current rates)  16.169.78*** 

Utility Deficit $-21,144.57 $-54,140.22  

Depreciation expense was not included in the above operational costs as it isn't a cash 
expense. 

* Seeking Insurance coverage 
** 1&1/2 hp pump to be replaced in 2010 
*** no growth/new builds projected 
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Exhibit A 
(proposed changes in bold italics) 

Hidden Creek Water Company 

Water Rate and Service Schedule 

Applicability 

Applicable in the entire service area, water service for culinary/drinking water 
purposes at one point of delivery. 

Rates as herein set forth shall apply to each service/consumer unit. A consumer unit is 
defined as a single family dwelling or residential building lot or a business or a 
profit or non-profit concern or other establishment that might apply for and/or 
has the legal right to apply for water service for domestic and/or other use 
purpose. Developer lots shall not be charged as a consumer unit until such time 
that the Developer lot is sold to a third party. 

The following rates will apply for a one-month billing period each month of the 
year. Each consumer unit will pay a minimum monthly service charge for a 12 
month period. 
USEAGE CHARGES 

Up to 12,000 gallons $130.00/month 

12,001 to 27,000 gallons $4.00 per 1,000 gallons 

27,001 to 65,000 gallons $4.50 per 1,000 gallons 

65,001 or more gallons $6.50 per 1,000 gallons 

Consumer units temporarily without a meter will be charged the minimum 
monthly service charge (developer lots excluded). 

Service Connection Charges 

Metered service connection to Company water main 
(all pipe sizes) $3,000.00 

Water Service Turn-on & Turn-off charges 
(each disconnect & reconnect action taken) $ 100.00 
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RULES AND REGULATIONS 

1. Connections: No unauthorized person will tap any water main ......  No person/ 
persons will, without first obtaining.... (no other changes) 

2. Application for Permit: A permit shall be obtained ....  (Strike the last paragraph 
beginning with "Owner applicant shall....") Applicants shall furnish and install all 
material to be used in said connection at their own and sole expense. The 
applicant's installation will require an on site inspection to insure quality of 
work and material, by a representative of the Company qualified to do so. 
Applicant shall give Company written notice a minimum of 5 working days 
prior to applicants's anticipated completion of the Company approved 
connection and a minimum 48 hour notice to Company after completion of 
installation construction but before backfilling any such construction 
activities so that Company can complete inspection of applicant's connection 
installation. 

3. Metering of Service: (No changes) 
4. Meter Adjustments: (No changes) 
5. Service Connection: Any party desiring a service connection from the Company 

shall make such application in writing. (Strike all current language hereafter) The 
applicant shall place the meter, yoke, meter box, cover and a shut off valve as 
described in number 6 below, in a non-traffic area that is accessible during all 
months of the year and free from any obstructions such as landscaping, cars, 
trash, rocks, dirt, or buildings, The meter lid shall be placed at least four 
inches (4") above grade and no landscaping shall be installed closer than two 
feet (2') to the meter lid. Any material furnished by the Company shall remain 
the property of the Company. 

6. Service Line: A service line is defined as any and all water system features 
and/or materials installed on the applicant's side of the Company's water meter 
and which materials and installation reside on the applicant's property. All 
service line materials and installation shall be provided by the applicant at their sole 
expense. The applicant shall provide a shut-off valve on the water service line in an 
accessible location separate from the water meter box and as reasonably close to 
the water meter box as is possible. 

7. Water Use Restriction: (No change) 
8. Service Turn-on and Turn-off:  (no change) 
9. Disruption Liability: The Company shall use reasonable diligence to provide 

continuous water service to its customers, and shall make a reasonable effort to 
furnish them with a clean, pure supply of water that meets the State and Federal 
guidelines, but the Company, it's directors, officers, independent contractors or 
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employees shall not be held liable for damages to any water user by reason of any 
stoppage or interruption of his water supply caused by scarcity of water, accidents to 
works, water main alteration, additions or repairs, acts of God or other 
unforeseeable or unavoidable causes. 

10. Damage to Facilities:  Costs of any damage resulting from the failure of the owner, 
agent, or tenant to properly protect the water meter or service line to their own 
house or building, or other facilities of the Company installed upon the premises 
supplied by with water, including but not limited to vandals, fire, freezing or 
construction work shall be assessed against the Owner applicant, agent or tenant. 
No person/persons or Owner applicant shall tamper with or remove the meter, or 
interfere with the reading thereof. 

11. Reading of Meters: All meters shall be read by the Company (strike "as early") in 
the spring and (strike "as late") in the fall and monthly during the period in between. 
(Strike remainder of paragraph 11 a and 11 b) The minimum monthly charge shall 
apply during non-meter read months as with every other month of the year. 
The monthly invoice showing the first meter reading in the spring shall reflect 
the meter reading from the last meter reading taken in the preceding fall and 
shall calculate the actual gallons used (if any) in excess of that included in the 
minimum monthly charge. 

12. Billing and Payments: (Delete last paragraph) In lieu of assessing a disconnect 
and reconnect charge as established by the Tariff, the Company at it's sole 
discretion can assess a $5.00 late fee for a prior balance owing on a customer's 
account until such time the prior balance owing is paid in full. The Company 
shall have the right to place a lien pon the premises of any customer that is 
over 60 days delinquent for any Company charges billed. 

13. Discontinuance of Service: (no changes) 
14. Regulated Useage: (no changes) 
15. Changes and Amendments:  (no changes) 
16. Credit Deposit: The Company may at its option, and in lieu of established credit, 

require a deposit from the customer to assure payment of bills; such deposits shall be 
 or equal to one billing period. (strike remainder of paragraph) The 
deposit after six months may be refunded or credited to said bill. 

17. Special Assessments: (no changes) 
18. Standby Fee: DELETE 

Facility Extension Policy (no changes proposed) 


