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Agency Information 

1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Public Service Commission 
Room number:  
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and zip: Salt Lake City, UT  84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and zip: Salt Lake City, UT  84114-4558 
Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
John Delaney 801-530-6724 jdelaney@utah.gov 
   
   

Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the persons listed above. 
 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R746-8-301.  Calculation and Application of UUSF Surcharge. 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule amendment is to ensure the Utah Universal Public Telecommunications Service Support Fund (UUSF) 
meets the fund’s statutory obligations and does not incur deficits beyond those obligations. As provided in Subsection 54-8b-
15(2), the UUSF provides a funding mechanism for qualifying telecommunications carriers “to obtain specific, predictable, and 
sufficient funds to deploy and manage” networks for end-users of certain telecommunications services. UUSF funding is 
provided by “an explicit charge assessed” – or surcharge – on each telecommunication access line or connection, pursuant to 
Subsection 54-8b-15(8). That surcharge is then remitted to the UUSF by telecommunications carriers who have collected the 
surcharge from their customers on a “per access line” basis, pursuant to Subsection 54-8b-15(9). The “per access line” basis 
allows the PSC, with the assistance of the Division of Public Utilities, to estimate UUSF revenue based on the number of 
customers of any given telecommunications carrier. In other words, the UUSF balance is a function of the revenue collected 
and remitted from the surcharge based on the projected number of access lines (Subsections 54-8b-15(8) & (9)), which is then 
offset by the projected costs attributable to deployment and management of the applicable telecommunications networks 
(Subsection 54-8b-15(2)). Accordingly, the projected “per access line” surcharge must be occasionally adjusted to meet the 
statutory obligations relating to the projected UUSF costs. Thus, this rule amendment increases the monthly UUSF surcharge 
remittal amount from $0.36 to $0.71 per access line. 

The Division of Public Utilities recently provided its recommended UUSF distributions for calendar year 2024 (CY2024) so that 
regulated Utah telecommunications carriers will “obtain specific, predictable, and sufficient funds to deploy and manage” 
networks for end-users of certain telecommunications services, as required by Utah law. These recommendations also noted 
that the recommended increased distributions in CY2024 will necessitate a surcharge increase to $0.71 in CY2024. The PSC 
will be making final decisions on those CY2024 distributions before the end of 2023, and the PSC recognizes that any changes 
to those final distributions could impact the appropriate surcharge level. Notwithstanding the ongoing process to approve and 
finalize CY2024 distributions, the PSC is submitting this rule amendment now to enable the surcharge change to take place at 
the appropriate time if the proposed distributions are approved. If the PSC determines, after finalizing CY2024 distributions, that 
this proposed surcharge increase remains appropriate, it anticipates making this rule amendment effective on December 29, 
2023, so that it will apply to all Utah access lines and connections for CY2024. 

The PSC expresses appreciation to the Division of Public Utilities in the Department of Commerce for providing the analysis 
necessary to consider and implement this rule amendment. 

mailto:jdelaney@utah.gov


4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment increases the monthly UUSF surcharge from $0.36 to $0.71 per access line. The amendment makes three 
textual edits, revising the rule’s three references to the $0.36 surcharge to reflect the new $0.71 surcharge. As explained in 
response to Question 3, the increase in the surcharge is necessary to ensure the UUSF can meet statutory obligations while 
remaining within policy norms. Unless public comment, or the results of the PSC proceedings to finalize CY2024 UUSF 
distributions, convinces the PSC to alter its plans, the PSC anticipates making this rule amendment effective on December 29, 
2023. 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This surcharge change will increase the balance accruing in the UUSF, satisfying the performance objective set by the Utah 
Legislature to maintain at least three months’ worth of fund distributions without incurring a deficit. The only other impact on the 
state budget is the impact on state offices that are telecommunications customers. Because the surcharge is passed on by 
providers to customers, every telecommunications customer will experience an increase of $0.35 in their monthly bill. 
B)  Local governments: 

The only impact on local governments will be in their capacity as telecommunications customers. Because the surcharge is 
passed on by providers to customers, every telecommunications customer will experience an increase of $0.35 in their monthly 
bill. 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a business employing 1-49 persons): 

The only impact on small businesses will be in their capacity as telecommunications customers. Because the surcharge is 
passed on by providers to customers, every telecommunications customer will experience an increase of $0.35 in their monthly 
bill. 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The only impact on non-small businesses will be in their capacity as telecommunications customers. Because the surcharge is 
passed on by providers to customers, every telecommunications customer will experience an increase of $0.35 in their monthly 
bill. 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local government entities ("person" means 
any individual, partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, or public or private organization of any character 
other than an agency): 
Affected – All customers who are billed for an access line presently pay $0.36 per month per access line for the UUSF 
surcharge. That rate was implemented in July 2021, and represented a reduction of $0.18 per access line per month – from 
$0.54 to $0.36. Under the new $0.71 rate, all such customers will pay $0.35 more per month per access line. According to the 
Division of Public Utilities, as of July 31, 2023, 4,063,228 access lines are assessed the surcharge every month. At the current 
rate, this results in approximately $1,443,600.00 being collected from such customers to fund the UUSF on a monthly basis, or 
approximately $17,323,199.00 per year. Based on CY2024 projections, an average of 4,279,057 access lines will be assessed 
for the surcharge every month. Under the new rate, approximately $2,998,331.00, on average, would be collected per month, or 
approximately $35,979,974.00 per year to fund the UUSF. The proposed rate increase will result in an approximate average 
increase of $1,554,731.00 per month, or $18,656,775.00 per year to fund the UUSF, as compared to the current rate to fund 
the UUSF. This will have a fiscal impact on Utah’s regulated telecommunications providers that receive distributions from the 
UUSF. This rule amendment will enable the UUSF to make the distributions in CY2024 that are necessary to meet the statutory 
requirements. The PSC presently does not have access to the commercially sensitive information that would be necessary to 
determine what portion of the access lines paying the surcharge are small businesses, larger businesses, or individuals. 
However, this increase should affect all customers and customer classes equally on a per access line basis. 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its changes?): 

All telecommunications customers currently paying this surcharge will experience an increase of $0.35 in their monthly bill.  

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there are 
inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State Government $0 $0 $0 
Local Governments $0 $0 $0 
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0 
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0 
Other Persons $9,328,388.00 $0 $0 
Total Fiscal Cost $9,328,388.00 $0 $0 
Fiscal Benefits FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 



State Government $0 $0 $0 
Local Governments $0 $0 $0 
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0 
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0 
Other Persons $0 $0 $0 
Total Fiscal Benefits $0 $0 $0 
Net Fiscal Benefits $0 $0 $0 
 
H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
All telecommunications customers in Utah will experience an increase of $0.35 on their monthly telecommunications bill. This 
will enable the UUSF to satisfy the Legislative performance goal of maintaining a sufficient balance in the fund to pay three 
months’ worth of disbursements, without incurring a deficit. This also will enable the UUSF to meet its statutory mandate to 
provide a funding mechanism for Utah's qualifying regulated telecommunications carriers to "obtain specific, predictable, and 
sufficient funds to deploy and manage" telecommunications networks. I appreciate the detailed analysis done by the Division of 
Public Utilities in the Department of Commerce that provided the PSC the necessary information. I have reviewed and approve 
this regulatory impact analysis. Thad LeVar, PSC Chair 

 
Citation Information 

6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, provide a 
citation to that requirement: 
Section 54-3-1 Section 54-4-1 Section 54-8b-10 
Section 54-8b-15   
   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 

7. Incorporations by Reference (if this rule incorporates more than two items by reference, please include additional tables): 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following title of materials incorporated by references (a copy of materials 
incorporated by reference must be submitted to the Office of Administrative Rules; if none, leave blank): 

Official Title of Materials Incorporated 
(from title page) 

 

Publisher  

Issue Date  

Issue or Version  

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following title of materials incorporated by references (a copy of materials 
incorporated by reference must be submitted to the Office of Administrative Rules; if none, leave blank): 

Official Title of Materials Incorporated 
(from title page) 

 

Publisher  

Issue Date  

Issue or Version  

 
Public Notice Information 

8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also request a 
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted until: 12/15/2023 
B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date (mm/dd/yyyy): Time (hh:mm AM/PM): Place (physical address or URL): 
   
   
To the agency: If more space is needed for a physical address or URL, refer readers to Box 4 in General Information. If more 
than two hearings will take place, continue to add rows. 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become effective on: 12/29/2023 



NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the effective date.    
 

Agency Authorization Information 
To the agency:  Information requested on this form is required by Sections 63G-3-301, 63G-3-302, 63G-3-303, and 63G-3-
402.  Incomplete forms will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication in the Utah State Bulletin 
and delaying the first possible effective date. 
Agency head or 
designee and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC Chair Date: 09/19/2023 

 
 

  



R746.  Public Service Commission, Administration. 
R746-8.  Utah Universal Public Telecommunications Service Support Fund (UUSF). 
 
R746-8-301.  Calculation and Application of UUSF Surcharge. 
 (1)  The Utah Universal Public Telecommunications Service Support Fund (UUSF) shall be funded as follows: 
 (a)  Unless Subsection R746-8-301(3) applies, providers shall remit to the Commission [$0.36]$0.71 per month per access line that, as of the last 
calendar day of each month, has a place of primary use in Utah in accordance with the Mobile Telecommunications Sourcing Act, 4 U.S.C. Sec. 116 et seq. 
 (b)(i)  "Place of primary use" means the street address representative of where the customer's use of the telecommunications service primarily 
occurs. 
 (ii)  A provider of mobile telecommunications service shall consider the customer's place of primary use to be the customer's residential street 
address or primary business street address. 
 (iii)  A provider of non-mobile telecommunications service shall consider the customer's place of primary use to be: 
 (A)  the customer's residential street address or primary business street address; or 
 (B)  the customer's registered location for 911 purposes. 
 (c)  A provider may collect the surcharge: 
 (i)  as an explicit charge to each end-user; or 
 (ii)  through inclusion of the surcharge within the end-user's rate plan. 
 (d)  A provider that offers a multi-line service shall apply the surcharge to each concurrent real-time voice communication call session that an 
end-user can place to or receive from the public switched telephone network. 
 (e)(i)  Except as provided in Subsection R746-8-301(1)(e)(ii): 
 (A)  A provider that offers prepaid access lines or connections that permit access to the public telephone network shall remit to the Commission 
[$0.36]$0.71 per month per access line for such service, such as new access lines or connections, or recharges for existing lines or connections, purchased 
on or after January 1, 2018. 
 (B)  Subsection R746-8-301(1)(e)(i) operates in lieu of Subsection R746-8-301(1)(a) in that a provider who is required to make a remittance for 
an access line under Subsection R746-8-301(1)(e)(i) is not required to make an additional remittance for the same access line under Subsection R746-8-
301(1)(a). 
 (C)  Multiple recharges of a single prepaid access line during a single month do not trigger multiple remittance requirements. 
 (ii)  The charge described in Subsection R746-8-301(1)(a) does not apply to a prepaid wireless telecommunications service, as defined in 
Section 69-2-405, that is subject to the service charge described in Subsection 69-2-405(2)(b). 
 (iii)  [$0.36]$0.71 per month is both the maximum and minimum amount of remittance necessary for any single access line. 
 (2)(a)  A provider shall remit to the Commission no less than 98.69% of its total monthly surcharge collections. 
 (b)  A provider may retain a maximum of 1.31% of its total monthly surcharge collections to offset the costs of administering this rule. 
 (3)(a)  Subject to Subsection R746-8-301(3)(b), a provider may omit the UUSF surcharge with respect to an access line that is described in 
Subsection R746-8-301(1), and: 
 (i)  generates revenue that is subject to a universal service fund surcharge in a state other than Utah for the relevant month for which the provider 
omits the UUSF surcharge; 
 (ii)  for the relevant month for which the provider omits the UUSF surcharge, was not used to access Utah intrastate telecommunications 
services; or 
 (iii)  subject to Subsection R746-8-403(5), receives subsidization through a federal Lifeline program approved by the FCC. 
 (b)  A provider that omits any UUSF surcharge pursuant to Subsection R746-8-301(3)(a) shall: 
 (i)  maintain documentation for at least 36 months that the omission complied with Subsection R746-8-301(3)(a); and 
 (ii)  consent to any audit of the documentation requested by the: 
 (A)  Commission; or 
 (B)  Division of Public Utilities. 
 (c)  A provider who omits any UUSF surcharge pursuant to Subsection R746-8-301(3)(a) shall report monthly to the Division of Public Utilities, 
using a method approved by the Division, the number of omissions claimed pursuant to Subsections R746-8-301(3)(a)(i) and R746-8-301(3)(a)(ii). 
 
 
KEY:  Utah universal service fund, surcharges and disbursements, speech/hearing challenges, assistive devices and technology 
Date of Last Change:  September 19, 2023 
Notice of Continuation:  February 16, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  54-3-1; 54-4-1; 54-8b-15; 54-8b-10 
 
 

 
 


