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To:  Utah Public Service Commission 

From:  Utah Office of Consumer Services 
   Michele Beck, Director 
   Cheryl Murray, Utility Analyst 

Date:  April 1, 2015 

Subject: In the Matter of Rocky Mountain Power’s Petition for Limited Waiver of R746-
200-7(G)(1), Notice of Proposed Termination of Service.  Docket No. 15-035-22 

 
 
Background 

On February 25, 2015, Rocky Mountain Power (Company) filed with the Utah Public Service 
Commission (Commission) a petition for limited waiver of R746-200-7(G)(1) (Rule).  That section 
of the Rule reads: 

 “G. Notice of Proposed Termination of Service – 

1.  At least 10 calendar days before a proposed termination of residential utility service, a 
public utility shall give written notice of disconnection for nonpayment to the account 
holder.  The 10-day time period is computed from the date the bill is postmarked.  The 
notice shall be given by first class mail or delivery to the premises and shall contain a 
summary of the following information: …” [emphasis added] 

Discussion 
The Company seeks a limited waiver of the Rule as it applies to the method of delivery of the 
notice only to customers who have elected to receive paperless billing.  The requested waiver 
would eliminate the requirement to provide notice of proposed termination of service by US Mail 
and instead allow the Company to provide notice to paperless billing customers through electronic 
means. 

Current Notification Process 
As identified above Commission Rule 746-200-7(G)(1) requires the Company to provide 
residential customers with two notices of pending disconnection prior to actual disconnection.  



– 2 – 
                                                                                                                                    April 1, 2015 
                                                                                                                         

Comments of the Office of Consumer Services, Docket 15-035-22 
 

One notice must be provided at least 10 calendar days prior to disconnect1 followed by a second 
notice at least 48 hours2 prior to disconnect. 

In keeping with the Rule the Company currently provides both the 10 day notice and a 48 hour 
notice in the manner required by Commission rules.  However, in the case of paperless billing 
customers the Company sends an electronic notice in addition to the first mailed notice.  Further, 
for all customers the Company provides a five-day notice sent by US Mail, outbound telephone 
calls, and physically delivers a door hanger notice to the customer’s service address.  

Company Proposed Changes 
As identified above the Company proposes to change the method of delivery of the first or ten-day 
notice only for customers who have self-selected to receive paperless billing.  In response to OCS 
data request 1.2 the Company explained how and when notices would be provided to paperless 
billing customers: 

 “…Rocky Mountain Power will deliver notification to paperless customers in the 
form of a 10-day email notification, a five-day U.S. Postal Service mailed 
disconnection notice, a reminder email three days following the issuance of the 
five-day notice, an outbound phone call and a 48-hour door hanger delivered to 
the site.”3 

Experience in Other States 

The Company has been providing paperless past due notices in Wyoming and Idaho since 2013.  
Pacific Power began using the same method in June 2014 after receiving a limited waiver of the 
rules.  The Company states that it has not had any consumer complaint filed with the Idaho, 
Wyoming or Oregon state commissions concerning this practice.  Additionally, a review of 
information regarding past due notices, final notices and disconnections in those states shows that 
while past due notices have increased a smaller percentage of paperless billing customers have 
actually been disconnected for nonpayment than paper billing customers. 
  
Requirements for Waiver of Rule 
Commission Rules include a provision for utilities to request a waiver of residential utility service 
rules.  Rule 746-200-1(F)(2) reads: 

 Upon a showing that specified portions of these rules impose an undue hardship 
and provide limited benefit to its customers, a utility may petition the 
Commission for an exemption from specified portions of these rules. 

                                                           
1 The Rule requires the first or 10 day notice to be given to the customer by first class mail or delivery to the 
premises. 
2 R746-200-7-(G)(2) – At least 48 hours before termination of service is schedule, the utility shall make good 
faith efforts to notify the account holder or an adult member of the household, by mail, by telephone or by 
a personal visit to the residence. 
3 “Customers who do not elect to have paperless communications will continue to receive 10-day U.S. 
Postal Service mailed notice, a five-day U.S. Postal Service mailed notice, an outbound phone call and a 48-
hour door hanger delivered to the site.” (OCS data request 1.2) 
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In its filing the Company explains that “allowing the Company to deliver 10-day notices by 
electronic delivery to customers preferring electronic communications without sending a paper 
notice through the US Mail will be more efficient, less costly and accomplish the objective of 
notifying customers of past due balances in a format elected by the customer.  Electronic delivery 
provides for almost immediate delivery and readily highlights the urgency needed for the customer 
to take action.” 

 Limited Benefit Requirement 

The Office of Consumer Services (Office) agrees that the requirement to deliver notices by US 
Mail is of limited value when paperless customers, having requested to receive bills and notices 
electronically, are receiving the first notification electronically.  While the additional cost is 
currently minimal4 the Office believes the cost savings as well as recognizing customers’ 
expressed preferences adequately justify the provision regarding limited benefit to customers of 
receiving the 10-day notice by US Mail. 

 Impose an Undue Hardship Requirement 

Making the case that requiring delivery of the 10-day notice by US Mail imposes an undue 
hardship is more difficult.  Although as noted above the expected annual savings is minimal there 
is the potential for savings growth as more customers move to electronic billing.  Further, if the 
experiences in other states are repeated in Utah there could be a smaller percentage of paperless 
billing customer that are actually disconnected for nonpayment as compared to paper billing 
customers.  The Division of Public Utilities (Division) asked the Company to provide an 
explanation of the undue hardship currently placed on customers that would require a waiver.  
Following is the Company’s response to DPU data request 2.1: 

 Currently, the Company is required to provide paper bills to customers who have 
specifically chosen to receive notification electronically.  Customers who choose 
paperless communications are more likely to disregard mail delivered by U.S. 
Postal Service.  The waiver would allow Rocky Mountain Power to deliver the 
notice as requested, in a quicker fashion and in a way the customer can access it 
in multiple different ways and locations, not just one single mailing address.  The 
undue hardships imposed on customers are: (1) sending paper notifications makes 
it less likely that the customer will be provided actual notice; and (2) the 
unnecessary costs, which are ultimately born by customers, that the Company is 
required to incur to send the paper notice.  As described in the Application, 
sending electronic notification is more efficient, less costly for all ratepayers and 
accomplishes the objective of notifying the customer in the format they have 
elected to use. 

The Office does not disagree with the Company’s assessment as provided in response to DPU 2.1, 
although arguably it could better be described as benefits of granting the waiver as opposed to 
removing undue hardships.  The Office does agree that customers who have chosen to receive 

                                                           
4 The Company issued 296,788 past due notices to Utah paperless customers in 2014.  The cost of sending 
out a paper past due notice to a customer costs approximately $0.52 per notice.  Electronic past due notices 
in Utah would achieve costs savings of approximately $154,300 annually.  There would be no incremental 
cost to send email notices to these customers. 
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electronic notification may indeed be more likely to disregard US mail delivery notification of 
termination of service and therefore miss the first opportunity to pay the outstanding balance or 
make payment arrangements.    

The Office believes that the Company is providing adequate notice to paperless billing customers 
even with the removal of the 10-day US mail notification and that the Company has demonstrated 
adequate benefits (or undue hardships) to allow the Commission to approve the application for 
limited waiver of the Rule with certain provisions.  The Office asserts that if the limited waiver is 
granted the Company should be required: 1) to report complaints regarding elimination of the 
mailed notice; 2) provide a mailed notice to any paperless billing customer requesting that delivery 
method; and 3) notify the Office and the Division if it modifies its current notification methods or 
schedules as described in response to OCS data request 1.2 

Recommendation 
The Office recommends that the Commission grant the Company’s request for limited waiver of 
Rule 746-200-7(G)(1) with the following conditions:  The Company should be required to: 

1) report complaints regarding the change in 10-day notification method; 

2) provide the 10-day notice via US Mail to any paperless billing customer if requested; 

3) notify the Office and the Division if the notification methods or schedules identified in 
response to OCS data request 1.2 are modified by the Company. 

  

 
CC Jeff Larsen, Rocky Mountain Power 
 Bob Lively, Rocky Mountain Power 
 Chris Parker, Division of Public Utilities 
 


