

March 28, 2017

VIA ELECTRONIC FILING

Public Service Commission of Utah Heber M. Wells Building, 4th Floor 160 East 300 South Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Attn: Gary Widerburg

Commission Secretary

RE: Advice No. 17-06

Proposed Changes to Schedule 73, Subscriber Solar Program

Docket No. 17-035-T06

Enclosed for electronic filing are the proposed tariff sheets associated with Tariff P.S.C.U No. 50 of PacifiCorp, d.b.a. Rocky Mountain Power (the "Company"), applicable to electric service in the State of Utah. Pursuant to the requirement of Rule R746-405-2(D), the Company states that the proposed tariff sheets do not constitute a violation of state law or Commission rule. The Company respectfully requests an effective date of May 1, 2017 for these changes.

First Revision of Sheet No. 73.2 Schedule 73 Subscriber Solar Program

The purpose of this filing is to propose minor changes to the Subscriber Solar Program ("Program") administered through Electric Service Schedule No. 73, specifically to make clarifications to the Special Conditions section. Proposed changes to the Schedule 73 are included as Exhibit A.

DESCRIPTION OF CHANGES

Proposed adjustments are listed below, with further explanation provided in subsequent sections.

1. Make clarifications to Special Conditions 7 and 8.

SPECIAL CONDITIONS

Special Condition 7 has been revised to clarify that cancelation fees may be required rather than will be required of subscribers up to \$50 per block canceled. The purpose of the cancelation fee is to manage the administrative costs associated with the cancelation and finding a new subscriber to enroll. The Company believes it is appropriate to have a way to negotiate a reduced fee on a case by case basis with customers if the cost to replace them is minimal on the program. A mechanism should also exist to waive or reduce cancelation fees if a customer's cancelation is due to extenuating circumstances, such as military service or medical reasons, consistent with other programs the Company offers.

Public Service Commission of Utah March 28, 2017 Page 2

Special Condition 8 was also revised to clarify that the Company may not accept enrollments rather than will not accept enrollments for accounts that have a time-payment agreement in effect, or have received two or more disconnect notices, or have been disconnected for non-payment within the last 12 months. This revision is in alignment with the language for special conditions outlined in Schedule 70 and Schedule 72. This revision provides more flexibility for the Company to accept enrollments from customers that have had a temporary credit issue or where a time payment agreement was required due to no fault of the customer, i.e. crossed-meter billings caused by a builder incorrectly labeling meter bases.

STAKEHOLDER INVOLVEMENT

A draft of proposed modifications to the Program was shared with the Division of Public Utilities and Office of Consumer Services March 16, 2017. The Company revised its proposed modifications based on feedback received, leaving in the minor clarifications to Special Conditions 7 and 8.

It is respectfully requested that all formal correspondence and staff requests regarding this matter be addressed to:

By E-mail (preferred): <u>datarequest@pacificorp.com</u>

michael.snow@pacificorp.com

By regular mail: Data Request Response Center

PacifiCorp

825 NE Multnomah Blvd., Suite 2000

Portland, OR 97232

Informal inquiries regarding this matter may be directed to me at (801) 220-4214.

Sincerely,

Michael S. Snow

Manager, Customer Solutions Regulatory Affairs

Well & Snow

Enclosures

cc: Division of Public Utilities

Office of Consumer Services

Exhibit A

P.S.C.U. No. 50

ELECTRIC SERVICE SCHEDULE NO. 73 - Continued

SPECIAL CONDITIONS:

- 1. After subscribing, customers will remain subscribed to the program until they cancel. Customers subscribing to amounts equal to or greater than 2,000 kW may negotiate specific subscription durations to be established as part of their electric service agreement.
- 2. Customers under Schedules 1, 2, 3 and 23 can subscribe to as many blocks as they want, but their subscription cannot exceed 100% of their usage for the prior 12 months (on a kWh basis). Customers can subscribe to at least one block, regardless of usage, if they meet all other eligibility requirements.
- 3. Customers under Schedules 6, 6A, 6B, 8, 9 and 9A can subscribe to as many blocks as they want, but their subscription cannot exceed the lower of their usage for the prior 12 months or 2,000 kW. Customer can subscribe to at least one block, regardless of usage, if they meet all other eligibility requirements.
- 4. If a customer cancels a subscription, the subscribed amount will be added to the available program capacity. Cancelation shall be effective at the end of the billing period in which the request is made.
- 5. Customers may transfer their subscriptions to other locations in the Company's Utah service territory if they move (provided they stay on the same rate schedule and account remains under the same customer name).
- 6. Customers can cancel their subscription within 30 days of signing up with no penalty/cancelation fee.
- 7. Subscribers will may pay a cancelation fee if they cancel within three years of subscribing. The cancelation fee will equal up to \$50 per block. After three years, no cancelation fee will apply. Customers with subscription amounts equal to or greater than 2,000 kW must provide notice six months in advance of termination or must pay the solar block charge for up to six months.
- 8. The Company will-may not accept enrollments for accounts that have a time-payment agreement in effect, or have received two or more disconnect notices, or have been disconnected for non-payment within the last 12 months.
- 9. The Company will retain ownership of the Renewable Energy Credits (RECs) and all other environmental attributes including but not limited to carbon emission reduction credits, which will be retired by the Company on behalf of subscribers. Customers may request to have RECs deposited in their own Western Renewable Energy Generation Information System account at their own expense.

(continued)

Issued by authority of Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah in <u>Advice No. 17-06</u> Docket No. 15-035-6117-035-T06

FILED: October 26, 2015 March 28, 2017 EFFECTIVE: October 21, 2015 May 1, 2017

P.S.C.U. No. 50

ELECTRIC SERVICE SCHEDULE NO. 73 - Continued

SPECIAL CONDITIONS:

- 1. After subscribing, customers will remain subscribed to the program until they cancel. Customers subscribing to amounts equal to or greater than 2,000 kW may negotiate specific subscription durations to be established as part of their electric service agreement.
- 2. Customers under Schedules 1, 2, 3 and 23 can subscribe to as many blocks as they want, but their subscription cannot exceed 100% of their usage for the prior 12 months (on a kWh basis). Customers can subscribe to at least one block, regardless of usage, if they meet all other eligibility requirements.
- 3. Customers under Schedules 6, 6A, 6B, 8, 9 and 9A can subscribe to as many blocks as they want, but their subscription cannot exceed the lower of their usage for the prior 12 months or 2,000 kW. Customer can subscribe to at least one block, regardless of usage, if they meet all other eligibility requirements.
- 4. If a customer cancels a subscription, the subscribed amount will be added to the available program capacity. Cancelation shall be effective at the end of the billing period in which the request is made.
- 5. Customers may transfer their subscriptions to other locations in the Company's Utah service territory if they move (provided they stay on the same rate schedule and account remains under the same customer name).
- 6. Customers can cancel their subscription within 30 days of signing up with no penalty/cancelation fee.
- 7. Subscribers may pay a cancelation fee if they cancel within three years of subscribing. The cancelation fee will equal up to \$50 per block. After three years, no cancelation fee will apply. Customers with subscription amounts equal to or greater than 2,000 kW must provide notice six months in advance of termination or must pay the solar block charge for up to six months.
- 8. The Company may not accept enrollments for accounts that have a time-payment agreement in effect, or have received two or more disconnect notices, or have been disconnected for non-payment within the last 12 months.
- 9. The Company will retain ownership of the Renewable Energy Credits (RECs) and all other environmental attributes including but not limited to carbon emission reduction credits, which will be retired by the Company on behalf of subscribers. Customers may request to have RECs deposited in their own Western Renewable Energy Generation Information System account at their own expense.

(continued)

Issued by authority of Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah in Advice No. 17-06 Docket No. 17-035-T06

FILED: March 28, 2017 **EFFECTIVE**: May 1, 2017