

February 2, 2022

VIA ELECTRONIC FILING

Public Service Commission of Utah Heber M. Wells Building, 4th Floor 160 East 300 South Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Attention: Gary Widerburg

Commission Administrator

Re: Advice No. 22-02

Proposed Tariff Changes to Electric Service Schedule No. 300 – Regulation Charges and Electric Service Regulation No. 5 – Customer's Installation

Docket No. 22-035-T04

Enclosed for filing by PacifiCorp, d.b.a Rocky Mountain Power ("the Company") are proposed tariff sheets associated with Tariff P. S. C. No. 51, applicable to electric service in the State of Utah. Pursuant to the requirement of Rule R746-405-2(D), the Company states that the proposed tariff sheets do not constitute a violation of state law or Commission rule. The Company respectfully requests an effective date of April 1, 2022.

Second Revision of Sheet No. 300.1	Electric Schedule No. 300	Service	Regulation Charges
First Revision of Sheet No. 5R.1	Electric Regulatio		Customer's Installation

The proposed changes are to add a new condition to Electric Service Regulation No. 5 ("Regulation 5") and a new monthly maintenance fee to Electric Service Schedule No. 300 ("Schedule 300") pertaining to underground transformer and switching stations.

Changes to Regulation 5

Underground stations are below-grade electric facilities including equipment rooms that contain the primary cable, secondary cable, switchgear, transformers, and other electrical power equipment required to serve a customer's facility ("underground station"). They differ significantly from standard above-ground pad mounted solutions in complexity, ease of access, working clearance and civil requirements such as heating/cooling/ventilation and additional drainage requirements. Customers typically elect to use an underground station when their facility occupies the available above ground space, leaving insufficient room for the required electrical power facilities. Underground stations are becoming more common and Regulation 5 does not currently address customers' responsibilities related to this equipment. The Company seeks to add language to Regulation 5 advising customers of their

Public Service Commission of Utah February 2, 2022 Page 2

responsibility and the associated proposed monthly maintenance fee under Schedule 300, which is described in the next section.

Changes to Schedule 300

Required inspections of underground stations are more complex than inspections of typical above-ground, pad mounted equipment to ensure the ventilation, drainage, structural integrity, and other safety components are evaluated and operating properly. Due to the required additional inspection and maintenance costs of underground stations, the Company proposes a new \$300 per month fee, which is based on the cost difference to conduct the required inspections, in order to recover the increased cost associated with operating, inspecting, and maintaining an underground station for new customers. The Company's average cost to conduct a visual inspection of standard above-ground equipment is \$12.78 and is only required every 10-20 years. By comparison, the average cost for inspection of an underground station is \$1,819, which is required twice per year for a total annual cost of \$3,639. The Company's proposed \$300 per month fee is based on the approximate difference in cost.

The Company proposes to apply this new charge to new customers only. Existing customers with underground station equipment would not be subject to the fee at this time.¹ For purposes of delineating which customers are subject to the fee, the Company defines new customers as those who execute their line extension electric service agreement or other contract, as applicable, after March 31, 2022. Requiring the fee for new customers only allows the affected customer to consider other options and make an informed decision prior to installing an underground station.

To evaluate the impact of the new fee on a future customer who opts for an underground station, the Company reviewed its existing accounts with underground stations to estimate the impact of the proposed \$300 per-month fee. The Company notes that customers of this type typically have an average monthly bill of \$35k (for reference, the range of the average bill for existing customers with underground stations is \$8k to \$137k per month). The Company believes the proposed fee is reasonable since it aligns with cost causation principles, would have a relatively minor impact to customers' bills, and would only be imposed on prospective customers who can make an informed decision prior to installing an underground station.

It is respectfully requested that all formal correspondence and staff requests regarding this matter be addressed to:

By E-mail (preferred): <u>datarequest@pacificorp.com</u>
Jana.saba@pacificorp.com

¹ The Company notes that it may request that existing customers be subject to the fee in the next general rate case proceeding.

Public Service Commission of Utah February 2, 2022 Page 3

By Regular mail: Data Request Response Center

PacifiCorp

825 NE Multnomah Blvd., Suite 2000

Portland, OR 97232

Informal inquiries may be directed to Jana Saba, Manager, State Regulatory Affairs, at (801) 220-2823.

Sincerely,

Joelle Steward

Senior Vice President, Regulation

CC: DPU, OCS, UAE

Enclosures





ROCKY MOUNTAIN POWER

ELECTRIC SERVICE REGULATION NO. 5

STATE OF UTAH

Customer's Installation

1. SERVICE ENTRANCES AND CONNECTIONS

(a) Attachment to Company Facilities

The Company will supply the exterior connection (service connection) between the Company's facilities and the point of delivery. The Customer shall provide a suitable service entrance to the premises to be served at the point specified by the Company. The Customer shall also provide a stationary and structurally sound support for the interconnection of the Company's and the Customer's facilities. The support shall be at a mutually agreeable location on the Customer's premises.

(b) Customer Owned Equipment Room for Company's Equipment

The design of Customer below grade vaults for Company owned electrical equipment such as transformers and switchgear must be consistent with Company's standards and pre-approved by Company. After acceptance of vault and installation of Company equipment, Customer may enter the vault only when escorted by an authorized representative of Company. Customers who execute line extension electric service contracts after March 31, 2022 shall also pay the monthly inspection and maintenance charge as specified in Schedule 300.

(bc) Metering Equipment

All meter bases for meters required for measuring electric service (including kVar when specified by the Company) shall be provided and installed by the Customer at a location acceptable to the Company and shall conform to the Company's specifications. The Customer's wiring, meter bases and service entrance facilities must be installed and maintained by the Customer in accordance with applicable municipal or state requirements and to standards required by the National Electrical Safety Code and National Electrical Code. When, in the Company's judgment, profile data is required, the customer will provide the necessary communications links. The Company is not obligated to provide service when Customer's equipment and installation does not meet the required standards.

Issued by authority of Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah in Docket No. 20-035-0422-035-T04/Advice No. 22-02

FILED: January 13, 2021 February 2, 2022 EFFECTIVE: January 1, 2021 April

<u>1, 2022</u>



P.S.C.U. No. 51

<u>First Revision of Sheet No. 5R.1</u> <u>Canceling</u> Original Sheet No. 5R.2

ELECTRIC SERVICE REGULATION NO.5 - Continued

(continued)

Issued by authority of Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah in Docket No. $\frac{20-035-04}{22-035-T04/Advice No. 22-02}$

FILED: January 13, 2021 February 2, 2022 EFFECTIVE: January 1,

2021 April 1, 2022





ROCKY MOUNTAIN POWER

ELECTRIC SERVICE SCHEDULE NO. 300

STATE OF UTAH

Regulation Charges

AVAILABILITY: In all service territory served by Rocky Mountain Power in the state of Utah.

APPLICATION: For all Customers utilizing the services of Rocky Mountain Power as defined and described in the Electric Service Regulations.

SERVICE CHARGES:

Sheet No.	<u>Description</u>	<u>Charge</u>
5R.1	Customer Owned Equipment Room, below gravault inspection and maintenance charge, if app	
5R.3	Service Call Charge: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 g Excluding Holidays. All other times	p.m. \$15.00 \$75.00
6R.1	Meter Charges: Meter Repairs/Replacement A	ctual repair or replacement cost
7R.1	Meter Verification Fee	\$15.00 per unit
7R.2	Non-Standard Meter Accommodation Installation and Subsequent Removal Char Rate Schedule No. 1 (standard resident All other Applicable Rate Schedules	_

Issued by authority of Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah in Docket No. 21-035-T08/Advice No. 21-0622-035-T04/Advice No. 22-02

FILED: July 13, 2021 February 2, 2022 EFFECTIVE: October 1,

2021April 1, 2022



P.S.C.U. No. 51

First Second Revision of Sheet No. 300.1 Canceling Original First Revision of Sheet No. 300.1

7R.3 Manual meter reading fee

\$22.00 monthly

(continued)

Issued by authority of Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah in Docket No. 01-035-01 Advice No. 01-10

FILED: November 8, 2001 EFFECTIVE: November 2, 2001





ROCKY MOUNTAIN POWER

ELECTRIC SERVICE REGULATION NO. 5

STATE OF UTAH

Customer's Installation

1. SERVICE ENTRANCES AND CONNECTIONS

(a) Attachment to Company Facilities

The Company will supply the exterior connection (service connection) between the Company's facilities and the point of delivery. The Customer shall provide a suitable service entrance to the premises to be served at the point specified by the Company. The Customer shall also provide a stationary and structurally sound support for the interconnection of the Company's and the Customer's facilities. The support shall be at a mutually agreeable location on the Customer's premises.

(b) Customer Owned Equipment Room for Company's Equipment

The design of Customer below grade vaults for Company owned electrical equipment such as transformers and switchgear must be consistent with Company's standards and pre-approved by Company. After acceptance of vault and installation of Company equipment, Customer may enter the vault only when escorted by an authorized representative of Company. Customers who execute line extension electric service contracts after March 31, 2022 shall also pay the monthly inspection and maintenance charge as specified in Schedule 300.

(c) Metering Equipment

All meter bases for meters required for measuring electric service (including kVar when specified by the Company) shall be provided and installed by the Customer at a location acceptable to the Company and shall conform to the Company's specifications. The Customer's wiring, meter bases and service entrance facilities must be installed and maintained by the Customer in accordance with applicable municipal or state requirements and to standards required by the National Electrical Safety Code and National Electrical Code. When, in the Company's judgment, profile data is required, the customer will provide the necessary communications links. The Company is not obligated to provide service when Customer's equipment and installation does not meet the required standards.

(continued)

Issued by authority of Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah in Docket No. 22-035-T04/Advice No. 22-02

FILED: February 2, 2022 EFFECTIVE: April 1, 2022



P.S.C.U. No. 51

ROCKY MOUNTAIN POWER

ELECTRIC SERVICE SCHEDULE NO. 300

STATE OF UTAH

Regulation Charges

AVAILABILITY: In all service territory served by Rocky Mountain Power in the state of Utah.

APPLICATION: For all Customers utilizing the services of Rocky Mountain Power as defined and described in the Electric Service Regulations.

SERVICE CHARGES:

Sheet No.	<u>Description</u>	<u>Charge</u>		
5R.1	Customer Owned Equipment Room, below grade vault inspection and maintenance charge	\$300.00/month		
5R.3	Service Call Charge: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m Excluding Holidays. All other times	\$15.00 \$75.00		
6R.1	Meter Charges: Meter Repairs/Replacement Actual	ıl repair or replacement cost		
7R.1	Meter Verification Fee	\$15.00 per unit		
7R.2	Non-Standard Meter Accommodation Installation and Subsequent Removal Charge Rate Schedule No. 1 (standard residential) \$283.00 per meter All other Applicable Rate Schedules actual cost but not less than \$283.00 per meter			
7R.3	Manual meter reading fee	\$22.00 monthly		
(continued)				

Issued by authority of Report and Order of the Public Service Commission of Utah in Docket No. 22-035-T04/Advice No. 22-02

FILED: February 2, 2022 EFFECTIVE: April 1, 2022

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Docket No. 22-035-T04

I hereby certify that on February 2, 2022, a true and correct copy of the foregoing was served by electronic mail to the following:

Utah Office of Consumer Services

Michele Beck <u>mbeck@utah.gov</u>

ocs@utah.gov

Division of Public Utilities

dpudatarequest@utah.gov

UAE

Phil Russell <u>prussell@jdrslaw.com</u>

Assistant Attorney General

Patricia Schmid pschmid@agutah.gov
Justin Jetter jjetter@agutah.gov
Robert Moore rmoore@agutah.gov

Rocky Mountain Power

Data Request Response <u>datarequest@pacificorp.com</u>

Center

Jana Saba <u>jana.saba@pacificorp.com</u>

utahdockets@pacificorp.com

Emily Wegener <u>Emily.wegener@pacificorp.com</u>

Mary Penfield

Adviser, Regulatory Operations

Man 21