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PublicService Commission <psc@utah.gov>

Fwd: Follow-Up on meeting
1 message

KEVIN HOUSE <khouse1961@verizon.net> Tue, Oct 10, 2023 at 1:39 PM
To: psc@utah.gov

Begin forwarded message:

From: Scott Hughes <powerscott@cityofhurricane.com>
Date: October 10, 2023 at 12:09:53 PM MDT
To: KEVIN HOUSE <khouse1961@verizon.net>, Nanette Billings <billings@cityofhurricane.com>, Nanette
Billings <nanettebillings@gmail.com>
Cc: Dayton Hall <dayton@cityofhurricane.com>
Subject: Follow-Up on meeting

Kevin,

Thank you for reaching out.

I understand your frustrations and I am sorry that they exist. I wish that this transition could be perfect, and
unfortunately, it’s not. We are doing the very best that we can to make this transition seamless and painless
as we can. We are aware that our solar rate is different than the multiple different rates that Rocky Mountain
Power offers. Please be aware that Hurricane City operates as a non-profit while RMP is a for profit entity.
They have the freedom and maneuverability to profit in some areas of their business and subsidize other
areas. Hurricane City believes that it is not fair or equitable for non-solar residents to subsidize the solar
residents, which means that all residents need to pay their share of infrastructure and resource.

The solar industry is constantly changing and advancing. This makes it difficult to have a perfect policy and
rate, and both will need to change from time to time to adapt to the technology. Hurricane City will continue
to monitor and adapt and do the best that we can to be fair for all customers.

As a note of education, the $20 base rate fee that all customers pay is for power only. That fee is not
applied to any other service or utility. Each of those will have their own fee structure. So, you can rest
assured that as a non-citizen that is paying for municipal power, your fees will not be for anything other than
power.

I have attached the fee schedule for the power. If you have questions, just let me know.

Best regards,

Scott Hughes

Power Director

Hurricane City

From: KEVIN HOUSE <khouse1961@verizon.net>
Sent: Friday, October 6, 2023 11:25 AM
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To: Nanette Billings <billings@cityofhurricane.com>; Nanette Billings <nanettebillings@gmail.com>; Scott
Hughes <powerscott@cityofhurricane.com>
Subject: Follow-Up on meeting

Thanks for meeting with us regarding our Solar contact with RMP, soon to be Hurricane Power.  It’s been
nine days since we met. 

I’ve drafted my letter/complaint to the Utah Public Services Commission.   It is our stance that Hurricane
City is not  going to honor our current RMP contract and second, and maybe more troublesome for the City,
we’re going to challenge the City having a $20 service fee for smaller residential solar systems and a $40
service fee for medium to large solar systems.  (Currently we only pay RMP a $10 a month service fee.)

  The State is big on residential solar and has adopted a resolution to that effect.   The maximum size solar
system allowed by law in Utah is 25kw.   You’re not allowed to have a system that generates excessively
more power than the home uses.  It should be as close to even as possible. RMP analysis past power
usage prior to approving the solar project. 

Why is the City punishing Solar homeowners??   The $20 a month you charge your NON-Solar customers,
who by the way have numerous City services on their bills. We would ONLY have electric, should remain
the same for ALL City customers, Solar, Non-Solar, small Solar systems or large solar system.   The City
acts like my system is a huge power plant.  

The irony is…… The size of my system has no affect on the grid since it “matches” my usage.   You DO
NOT have a higher SERVICE FEE  for homes that use more power than others.  (Please don’t confuse the
two tiers of electric rates that ALL residential customers have.  We’re talking only about the monthly
SERVICE FEE not the cost of power.  

Strange that your City is anti residential solar.  You should appreciate us.  Unless the City wants to make a
profit from each Solar home.  

Our argument we are putting forth to the Utah Public Services Commission is that your two tier SERVICE
FEES, one for smaller solar systems and one for medium to large systems is unfair a possibly illegal.  There
is no extra cost to the City for having a larger solar system if the solar system was properly sized as
required.   

I’ve asked for but, have not received, the cost basis’ analysis on how the City came up with why a larger
solar system should have to pay more.  It makes no sense unless it’s just a way for the City to make money
off of homes using less power.   

If the UPSC agrees with me the City would have to go to a single service fee for ALL customers.  Solar or
Not.   

Billing cost for the 20 Solar homes in the two divisions the City is taking over the power for will only have
one utility in the bill.  Not five like the homes in the City.  
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We are NOT part of your City.  YOUR City Council has no authority over us.  We cannot vote in your City.
 We do not receive legal notices regarding what’s going on in the City to be involved in the process.
 Taxation without representation.  

Hurricane Power is a separate entity.  A company ran by the City.  I non-profit company.  We don’t live in
your City.   You mentioned that you will not have two different service fees for us, who don’t live in your city
and have current contracts with RMP. Our current Service Fee is only $10.  Why should we pay more??

We have a binding contract with RMP. Hurricane City took over RMP customers by buying all the assets for
$208,000 but you claim you didn’t buy the contracts.  This is incorrect.  Even your Asset Purchase
Agreement between Rocky Mountain Power, section 4.3 and 5.3 clearly states that RMP is transferring all
assets as well as CONTRACTS, etc. to the City of Hurricane and the City of Hurricane accepts those assets
and Contracts, etc.   

The City bought RMP’s contracts and MUST honor them.

Thus can simply be resolved by honoring the $10 Service Fee as we currently have on our, and 19 others,
ongoing contracts with RMP until annexation takes place. 

I haven’t even been given the rate schedule for the power we us and the power we send back to the
grid.

Yet, We’re being forced, against our will, to sign up with Hurricane Power by the 13th. Or risk having our
power turned off.  I have medical life supporting equipment at my home.  

Once I send our letter to the UPSC, it will be in their hands. 

Please send to this email:

1) The cost basis analyses that determined why there is a two different SERVICE FEES based on solar
system size.  My small system is considered a large system and the fee is $40

2) The rate schedule for Solar Customers for power used and for power going back to the grid. There are
several methods to do this.  I have a right to know that BEFORE signing anything with your City.

3) An update on the status of what was discussed at our meeting nine days ago.

Thanks,

Kevin House

Please no phone calls. Everything needs to be in writing.  I think it is ridiculous that this matter is not simply
resolved.  



CONNECTION FEES January 17, 2019 ELECTRIC RATES April 1, 2023 
Hookup Fees Residential 

Single Phase Metering $237.00 Base Charge $20.00 

Three Phase Non C.T. 
metering (under 400 amps) 

$725.00 Usage 

1-800 KWH $0.08946/kwh 

Three Phase with C.T. metering 
(over 400 amps) 

$1,395.00 801-2000 KWH $0.10222/kwh 

2001 + KWH $0.11485/kwh 
Developing Underground Connection Point from Overhead to 

Underground 
Small 

Commercial Base Charge – Single Phase $19.00 
Single Phase Secondary $1281.00 Base Charge – Three Phase $24.50 
Secondary Riser Usage 
4/0 Riser $592.00 1-800 KWH $0.10302/kwh 
350 MCM Riser $717.00 801 + KWH $0.10880/kwh 
500 MCM Riser $717.00 Demand Charge 

Primary Single Phase Riser Over 50 KW $8.50/KW 
1/0 Primary Riser $1044.00 Large 

Primary Three Phase Riser Base Charge $320.00 
1/0 Primary Riser $2,447.00 Usage 

Commercial 4/0 Primary Riser $2,447.00 All KWH   $0.06658/kwh 
500 Primary Riser $4,074.00 Demand Charge 
750 Primary Riser $4,074.00 All KWH $9.10/KW 

Other Connection Fees   

Switch Make-Up Fee $1083.00 SOLAR FEES AND RATES April 1, 2023 
Application Review Fee (1st Review) $200.00 

Each Additional Review $75.00 

Bi-Directional Meter Fee $375.00 

Single Phase Basic Base Rate 6 kW AC or Less $30.00 

Single Phase Large Base Rate 12 kW AC or less $40.00 

Three Phase Basic Base Rate 12 kW AC or less $90.00 

 
 

Connect into Developers Switch 
Fuse Bay 

$1690.00 

Connect into Existing Switch per 
Bay  

$8,999.00 

Connect into an Existing Vault 
per KVA 

$6.50 

Elbow Termination Fee $99.00 

Plan Review Fee 3 + per $100.00 *See Grid-Tied Policy for additional base rates and application review details. 

 Impact Fee Schedule   Approved November 17, 2022          * Impact Fee= Base Impact Fee ($ per kW) $600.69 

Service Amps 120/240 

Single Phase 

Commercial  

120/240 Single Phase 

Commercial Industrial   

120/208 Three Phase 

Commercial Industrial 

240/480 Three Phase 

Commercial Industrial 

277/480 Three Phase 
125 $1,622 NA NA NA NA 

200 $2,595 $4,902 $7,358 $16,979 $16,979 

300 $3,892 $7,352 $11,037 $25,469 $25,469 

400 $5,190 $9,803 $14,715 $33,958 $33,958 

500 $6,487 $12,254 $18,394 $42,448 $42,448 

600 $7,785 $14,705 $22,073 $50,938 $50,938 

700 NA $17,156 $25,752 $59,427 $59,427 

800 NA $19,607 $29,431 $67,917 $67,917 

900 NA $22,057 $33,110 $76,407 $76,407 

1000 NA $24,508 $36,788 $84,896 $84,896 

1100 NA $26,959 $40,467 $93,386 $93,386 

1200 NA $29,410 $44,146 $101,875 $101,875 

1300 NA $31,861 $47,825 $110,365 $110,365 

1400 NA  $34,311 $51,504 $118,855 $118,855 

1500 NA $36,762 $55,183 $127,344 $127,344 

1600 NA $39,213 $58,861 $135,834 $135,834 

1700 NA $41,664 $62,540 $144,324 $144,324 

1800 NA $44,115 $66,219 $152,813 $152,813 

1900 NA $46,565 $69,898 $161,303 $161,303 

2000 NA $49,016 $73,577 $169,792 $169,792 

2500 NA $61,270 $91,971 $212,241 $212,241 

3000 NA $73,524 $110,365 $254,689 $254,689 
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