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CERTIFIED MAIL - RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED
February 10, 2016

Mr. Michael Moyal
Millstream Motel

1450 Washington Blvd.
Ogden, UT 84404

RE: NOTICE—YOU MUST COMPLY WITH STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND RULES
REGARDING MASTER METER SYSTEMS

Dear Mr. Moyal,

Based upon information provided by the Pipeline Safety Staff as a result of its January 6,
2016 meeting with you on your property, you are the owner and operator of a natural gas
pipeline system which is defined as a “master meter system.” Accordingly, you must comply
with the statutes, regulations, and rules enacted by the Utah Legislature, the Public Service
Commission of Utah (Commission), and the federal government, and you are subject to the
jurisdiction of the Commission and the Utah District Court. This means you must either cease the
provision of gas service or comply with the above-mentioned provisions, as outlined below.

You are specifically subject to, without limitation, Utah Code Ann. Section 54-13-1
through 54-13-8 and Commission Administrative Rule R746-409. Under these provisions, as the
owner and operator of a master meter system, you must comply with certain pipeline safety
statutes and regulations including, but not limited to, the federal Natural Gas Act and related
federal and state legislaﬁon.1 For example, you must: report certain accidents or incidents
related to your master meter system and file related accident or incident reports; have [on your
property] “a plan for the operation and maintenance of [your master meter system};” and have
[on your property] “a plan to minimize hazards resulting from an incident involving [your master
meter system]” which complies with the “essential requlrements stated in Title 49 CFR Part
192.615.” A “gas detector leak survey” may also be requlred You can find the applicable
statutes, regulations, and rules on Utah’s Pipeline Safety webpage at
publicutilities.utah.gov/pipeline.html.

' See, e.g. Utah Code Ann. Sections 54-13-2 and 54-13-3.
2 R746-409-4 through R746-409-7.
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Consequences for failing to comply with applicable statutes, regulations, and rules, after
notice and opportunity for hearing before the Commission or District Cout, include substantial
fines. These fines may be up to but not more than $100,000 per violation per day, but may not
exceed $1,000,000 “for any related series of violations.™ The Pipeline Safety Staff is available
to assist you with these compliance requirements. You can confact Connie Hendricks at (801)
530-6286 for more information and assistance.

If you choose to cease operating and using the master meter system, you would no longer
be subject to the above statutes, regulations, and rules. There are certain steps that you must take
to properly cease operating and using your master meter system. In order for you to cease
owning and operating a master meter system, you must: turn off the valve upstream from the
meter, notify Questar Gas Company to lock and tag the valve, and blow out the residual gas from
inside the downstream pipes. The Pipeline Safety Staff is available to assist you with this option,
and can be contacted as set forth above.

Within two weeks after the receipt of this letter, please inform the Pipeline Safety Staff
and me in writing of your intentions. Send written notice of your decision to the Pipeline Safety
Staff at:

Division of Public Utilities
Pipeline Safety Section

P.O. Box 146751

Salt Lake City UT 84114-6751

or by email to:
pipelinesafety(@utah.gov

and to me at:

Patricia E. Schmid

Assistant Attorney General

160 East 300 South, 5™ Floor
P.O. Box 140857

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0857

or'by email to:
pschmid@utah.gov

Should you continue to own and operate your master meter system without complying
with the applicable statutes, regulations, and rules, the Attorney General’s Office will initiate
legal proceedings against you. The Attorney General’s Office will file a Complaint and Notice
of Probable Violation with the Commission or the Utah District Court. The Complaint and
Notice of Probable Violation will request, among other things, that you be ordered (1) to comply
with applicable law and (2) be assessed penalties related to your noncompliance. This letter
satisfies the requirement under Commission Administrative Rule R746-409 that you be provided
notice before proceedings are initiated before the Commission.

3 Utah Code Ann. Sections 54-13-8(1) and (2).




The Utah Division of Public Utilities, its Pipeline Safety Section, and the Attorney
General’s Office work together to promote and protect the public safety relating to the ownership
and operation of master meter systems. Statutory penalties are designed to help ensure that
owners and operators of master meter systems do not disregard the law. You must protect the
public by complying with applicable statutes, regulations, and rules.

If you have any questions, please contact me by phone at (§01) 366-0380, or by email at
pschmid(@utah.gov.

Smcelply,

7 ﬁ//f/f

'Patncla E. Scﬁrmd
Assistant Attorney General

cc: Chris Parker
Al Zadeh




