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REPORT AND ORDER  

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 

ISSUED: October 28, 2010 
 
By The Commission:  

Emery Telephone filed its tariff to eliminate its existing Extended Area Service 

(EAS) and increase its basic service and PBX trunk rates.  Emery consolidates its four exchanges 

into one, which will eliminate the EAS monthly charge of $4.95.  This will result in a loss of the 

EAS revenue, which necessitates the increase in basic rates and PBX trunk rates.  Emery’s Board 

of Directors approved the rate changes per Utah Code Ann. §54-7-12(7)(c).   

The Division of Public Utilities noted that the new base rates do not exceed the 

Affordable Rate Base proposed by the Division.  The Division recommended the Commission 

approve the tariff modification, and waive the 30-day notice required by Utah Admin. Code 

R746-405(E)(3), so that the Company may assess the new rates beginning with the November 

billing cycle.   

The Commission finds good cause for approving the tariff modification and for 

waiving the 30-day notice period. 

ORDER 

The tariff as amended is approved, and the 30-day notice period is waived.  The 

Company shall be permitted to assess the new rates beginning November 1, 2010.  Pursuant to 

Sections 63G-4-301 and 54-7-15 of the Utah Code, an aggrieved party may request agency 
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review or rehearing of this Order by filing a written request with the Commission within 30 days 

after the issuance of this Order.  Responses to a request for agency review or rehearing must be 

filed within 15 days of the filing of the request for review or rehearing.  If the Commission does 

not grant a request for review or rehearing within 20 days after the filing of the request, it is 

deemed denied.  Judicial review of the Commission’s final agency action may be obtained by 

filing a petition for review with the Utah Supreme Court within 30 days after final agency action.  

Any petition for review must comply with the requirements of Sections 63G-4-401 and 63G-4-

403 of the Utah Code and Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure.  

  DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah, this 28th day of October, 2010. 

        
/s/ Ruben H. Arredondo 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
Approved and confirmed this 28th day of October, 2010, as the Report and Order 

of the Public Service Commission of Utah.  

        
/s/ Ted Boyer, Chairman 

 
        

/s/ Ric Campbell, Commissioner 
 
        

/s/ Ron Allen, Commissioner 
 
Attest: 
 
 
/s/ Julie Orchard   
Commission Secretary 
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