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PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

Community Water Company (“Company”) is a private water system which provides water
to approximately 500 residential and commercial customers located in the Snyderville Basin
area near Park City, Utah. The Company provides both culinary and irrigation water. Water
service is provided through the Company’s water system and is paid for by customers through
monthly charges, further described herein. No signifigant changes have occurred to the
Company system since the last Tariff was issued.

At the conclusion of a full hearing on the merits for an increase in the rate and tariff
changes for Community Water Company, the Public Service Commission issued an Order on
November 28, 2016. (Attachment A). Tariff No. 3 is filed pursuant to that Order. The final
rates and tariff modifications included herein are consistent with the Order and
recommendations of the the Utah Division of Public Utilities. Tariff No. 3 supercedes Tariff
No. 1, effective January 18, 1988 and Tariff No. 2, effective February 1, 2002.

The Company believes, in good faith, the filing of Tariff No. 3 is in compliance with all
applicable state law and Public Service Commission rules. Copies of Tariff No. 3 are available
from the Company for a nominal copying charge.
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WATER SERVICE RATES AND FEES SCHEDULE

The Rate Schedule below is applicable to each “connected customer.” For Company

purposes a “connected customer” includes:

a.

b.

c.

a single family dwelling with an individual meter that tracks both culinary and
irrigation use;

a commercial building with one or more meters to track both culinary and irrigation
use;

a unit in a condominium complex with a meter to track culinary use and a shared meter
to track irrigation use;

a unit in a condominium complex with a shared meter to track both culinary and
irrigation use; and

a clubhouse in a condominium complex.

The Company will not supply any water at any time to any person without a valid promise
from each person to pay the Company for the water supplied.

Rate Schedule

Monthly Rates Monthllli/ Water Usage

mounts

Standby Rate * $16.05
Base Rate for Connected
Customers $30.65 0 gals 0 gals
Tier 1 (Per 1,000 Gallons) $0.70 0 gals 12,000 gals
Tier 2 (Per 1,000 Gallons) $1.40 12,001 gals 24,000 gals
Tier 3 (Per 1,000 Gallons) $2.80 24,001 gals 36,000 gals
Tier 4 (Per 1,000 Gallons) $4.20 36,001 gals 48,000 gals
Tier 5 (Per 1,000 Gallons) $6.30 48,001 gals Over
Miscellaneous Fees and Charges
Service Connection Fee $3,750.00
Turn-On Service for Existing Connection $25.00
Turn-Off Service for Non-Payment of Charges or at
Owner’s Request 525.00
Customer Late Fee (plus 18% interest) $10.00 per month
Returned Check Fee $10.00

* Applies to lots where service mains are in place and where water service is
available, but no water service has been connected and no water service is used; Or
where water service has been disconnected by the Company at the request of the
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customer; or involuntarily by the Company after proper notice to the Customer.

RULES AND REGULATIONS

ki Service Connections. Any person desiring to obtain water service from the Company
shall make an application to the Company in writing. As a condition of application
approval, an applicant shall pay the Turn-on Fee. Additionally, as a condition of
receiving water service, a Customer shall pay the Connection Fee for all first time water
connections. The Connection Fee includes a meter, meter box, a cover, and a valved
service line to the property line, all of which shall remain the sole and exclusive
property of the Company. The meter and meter box will be located as directed by the
Company. Any excavation and installation shall be made by the Company from the
main line in the street to three (3) feet beyond the meter. The Connection charges shall
apply to all new connections.

2. Connections. No unauthorized person shall tap any water main or distribution pipe of
the Company or insert therein any corporation cock, stopcock or any other fixture or
appliance or alter or disturb any service pipe, corporation stop, curb stop, gate valve,
hydrant, water meter or any other attachment, being part of the waterworks system and
attached thereto. No person shall install any water service pipe or connect or
disconnect any such service pipe with or from the mains or distribution pipes of said
waterworks system, nor with or from any other service pipe now or hereafter connected
with said system, nor make any repairs, additions to, or alterations of any such service
pipe, tap, stopcock, or any other fixture or attachments connected with any such service
pipe, without first obtaining a permit from the Company. All materials used and the
installation thereof in the conveyance of Company water shall comply with the Utah
Department of Environmental Quality standards and specifications.

35 Service Line. A service line is defined as all water system facilities installed between
the Customer unit and the meter. All service line materials and installation shall be
provided and paid for by the applicant, except that the meter, meter box, and meter
cover shall in all instances be installed and owned by the Company. A shut-off valve
shall be provided by the Customer on each service line, in an accessible location
separate from the water meter box. Installation of a service line shall be inspected and
approved by the Company before the service line trench is backfilled.

4. Application for Permit. A permit shall be obtained from the Company before any
service connection can be made to any part of the waterworks system or before any
work performed can be performed upon old or new connections. Such permit shall be
issued only upon written application on forms obtainable from the Company.
Applicants for water service shall furnish, lay and install at their own expense, all that
portion of the service not provided by the Company, subject however, to the
supervision and inspection of the Company.
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10.

Metering of Service. All water delivered by the Company to its Customers shall be
metered through water meters. Meters may be checked, inspected, or adjusted at the
discretion of the Company, and shall not be opened or adjusted except by authorized
representatives of the Company. Only authorized representatives of the Company shall
open meter boxes to turn water service on or off except in case of emergency or when
special permission is given by the Company.

Meter Adjustment. If a meter fails to register at any time, the water delivered during
such a period shall be billed at the rate for the average water usage of the preceding
three months. In the event a meter is found to be recording at less than 97 percent
(97%) or more than 103 percent (103%) of actual, the Company may make such
adjustments to the Customer’s previous bill as are just and fair under the circumstances.

Backflow Prevention. All applicants requesting connection to or Customers connected
to the water system shall provide, at their sole expense, any and all back-flow
prevention/protection device(s) deemed necessary by the Company and to comply with
the regulations and rules of the Utah Department of Environmental Quality to protect
the water quality of the water system from potential back-flow incidence. All
Customers, at their sole expense, shall submit annually to the Company (in the
springtime and before the Customer’s use of outside irrigation water) the required proof
of certification of inspection of the Customer's back-flow prevention device(s).

Regulated Usage. Whenever the Company shall determine that the amount of water
available to its distribution system has diminished to such a volume that, unless
restricted, the public health, safety and general welfare is likely to be endangered, the
Company may prescribe rules and regulations to conserve the water supply during such
emergency. Such rules and regulations may include, but shall not be limited to, the
restriction to certain hours (or total prohibition) of the use of water for outdoor
watering.

Water Use Restriction. The owner or occupant of any building or premises entitled to
the use of water from the Company shall not supply water to any other building or
premises without written permission of the Company. The owner or occupant may not
use any water from the Company that is not metered.

Service Turn-on and Turn-off. Only authorized representatives of the Company shall
turn water service on or off at the meter box, except in case of an emergency or when
special permission is granted by the Company. Service may be turned off by the
Company when so requested by the Customer, when the Customer fails to abide by
these regulations, or as permitted by Utah Administrative Code R746-200-7,
Termination of Scrvice. Whenever the water is turned off at any premises, it shall not
be turned on again until the Customer pays all delinquent balances owing, late charges,
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11,

12.

13.

14.

15.

and reconnection fees as shown in the rate schedule.

Disruption Liability. The Company shall use reasonable diligence to provide
continuous water service to its Customers, and shall make a reasonable effort to furnish
all Customers with a clean, pure supply of water that meets applicable State and Federal
water guidelines. The Company shall not be held liable for damages to any Customer
or water user by reason of any stoppage or interruption of water service caused by
scarcity of water, accidents to works, water main alterations, additions or repairs, acts
of God, acts of third persons, government interference, or other unavoidable causes
beyond the Company’s control.

Damage to Facilities. Costs of any damage resulting from the negligence and/or
failure of owner, agent or tenant to properly protect the water meter or service line
related to a service connection, or other facilities of the Company installed upon
premises supplied with water, including but not limited to vandalism, fire, freezing, or
construction work, shall be assessed against such Customer, owner, applicant, agent or
tenant. No Customer or person shall tamper with or remove the meter, or interfere with
the reading thereof.

Reading of Meters. All meters shall be read by the Company at least once every two
(2) months, weather permitting, and charges shall be based upon meter readings except
as provided for in paragraph 6 above. If the meters are inaccessible to read, for
example during winter months, Customers shall be billed at the minimum usage
amount. The actual winter usage, should it exceed the minimum usage amount during
the winter months, shall be billed in total on the first billing which shows the first meter
reading taken in the calendar year.

Discontinuance of Service. Any Customer wishing to discontinue service shall notify
the Company at least three (3) days in advance so that the meter can be read for a final
billing. Such final bill shall be due and payable upon receipt.

Billing and Payments. The Company shall use a billing cycle that has an interval
between regular periodic billing statements of not greater than two (2) months. Bills
covering the charges will be issued and shall be due within thirty (30) days after being
issued. If any Customer neglects or refuses to pay a water service bill or any other
obligation due to the Company within thirty (30) days from the date of issuance, the
Company’s employees shall have the right to go upon the premises and do such work as
may be necessary to disconnect the water service. Before the service is renewed and
reconnected the delinquent bill or bills shall be paid in full, or payment arrangements
satisfactory to the Company shall be made, and the established tariff charge for
reconnection shall be paid. The Company may contract with a third party to handle all
bills, billings, and Customer payments. The Company will notify the Customers of
such arrangement.
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16. Capital Reserve Accounting Requirements. A Capital Reserve Account, targeted to
equal the annual depreciation expense and annual amortization of the contribution in
aid of construction of the Company’s water system assets and equipment, shall be
established, subject to the following:

a.

All designated capital reserve fees generated from rates shall be deposited into the
Capital Reserve Account. Any excess fees collected from overage rates, after
deducting for any variable expenses shall be deposited in the Capital Reserve
Account and shall be labeled as ‘Accelerated Capital Reserve Fees.’

All Capital Reserve Account funds shall be deposited in a restricted bank account
such as a separate escrow account, within thirty (30) days from receipt of such
payment.

Withdrawals from the Capital Reserve Account shall be made for capital
replacements and improvements only.

In accordance with Utah Administrative Rule R746-401-3A, expenditures in excess
of five (5) percent of total Utility Plant in Service shall require the Company to file
a report with the Commission, at least thirty (30) days before the purchase or
acquisition of the asset or project, and to obtain written Commission approval
before transacting such acquisitions.

Upon submission of the Annual Report to the Public Service Commission, the
Company shall also provide a separate accounting of the Capital Reserve Account
consisting of monthly bank statements encompassing the entire calendar year
showing a series of deposits made within thirty (30) days from the receipt of rate
payments for each billing cycle and withdrawals that meet requirements 17.a, b and
¢ above. Such detailed accounting, including copies of bank statements and
possible other sensitive information, shall be marked as “confidential.”

The balance in the Capital Reserve Account shall be clearly identifiable in the
financial statements as a restricted account.

In identifying a qualifying expenditure for replacement or improvements that may
be made from the Capital Reserve Account, the Company shall consider the
following guidelines:

i.  Capital improvements are typically high cost items with long service lives,
including, but not limited to, the distribution pipe main lines, storage
reservoirs, wells, and surface water intakes. Expenditures that qualify as
capital expenditures are those that extend the life of an asset, enhance its
original value with better quality materials or system upgrades, or replace
such assets.
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ii.  Capital improvements do not include minor expenses such as repair clamps,
inventory parts and fittings, spare pieces of pipe kept to facilitate repairs,
small tools, maintenance supplies such as paint or grease, service contracts,
and other day-to-day supplies. Expenses for these items are properly
classified as “operating and maintenance” expenses.

iii.  Additionally, it is not appropriate to use Capital Reserve Account funds
received from existing Customers for system expansion, that is, to extend
main lines to serve new areas or new Customers or to install new services.
Funds for the expansion of the system should come from new development,
impact fees, connection fees, assessments or other sources so that those
benefiting from the improvement contribute the funds for its construction.

h. In the event any payment from a Customer is a partial payment of any given billed
invoice by the Company, that payment shall be used first to cover the fixed and
variable expenses, and then to cover the Capital Reserve Fee. A reconciliation,
clearly indicating the circumstances surrounding those instances when the Capital
Reserve Account was not fully funded, shall be provided by the Company with the
detailed ‘annual accounting’ of the Capital Reserve Account.

i, The Company shall list the Customer’s charge for payment to the Capital Reserve
Account as a separate line item (‘“Capital Reserve Fee”) in each billing statement.

j. Interest accruing on funds held in the Capital Reserve Account shall become a part
of the Capital Reserve Account and can only be used in accordance with this
paragraph 16.

17.  Changes and Amendments. The Company reserves the right to change, amend or add
to these Rules and Regulations as experience may show it to be necessary and as such
amendments or changes are approved by the Utah Public Service Commission.

18.  Special Assessments, The Company reserves the right to levy special assessments as
necessary to pay for or reimburse the Company for expenses attributed to emergency or
necessary waterworks system improvements, maintenance, or repairs, subject to all
necessary approvals of such special assessments by the Public Service Commission.

Community Water Company Tarriff No. 3
Effective Date: November 28, 2016 Docket No. 16-098-01
Filed Date: January 27,2017

10



REGULATION A

FACILITY EXTENSION POLICY

Al.

A2,

A3,

A4,

AS.

Definition. An extension is any continuation of, or branch from, the nearest available
existing water distribution line of the Company, including any increase of capacity of
an existing line and/or existing supply and/or existing storage to meet the Customers’
requirements,

Costs. The total cost of extensions including engineering, labor, and materials shall be
paid by the applicants or as agreed upon between the applicant and the Company as
decided by the Company at the Company's sole discretion for such extensions. If,
because of the extension and the addition of applicants as Customers, additional water
rights, pumps, storage, or other water plant must be acquired, the Company may require
the applicants to pay these costs. Where more than one Customer is involved in an
extension the costs shall be pro-rated on the basis of the street frontage distances
involved or upon such other basis as may be mutually agreed by the applicants.
Sufficient valves, pressure reducing devices, fire hydrants and any other infrastructure
installation mandated by the Company and/or the Utah Department of Environmental
Quality must be designed to be included and installed with every installation.

Construction Standards. Minimum standards of the Company shall be met, which
standards shall also comply with the standards of the Utah State Division of Drinking
Water. Pipe sizes shall be designated by the Company. The pipeline shall be installed
only along dedicated streets, highways or within utility easements, unless otherwise
approved in writing by the Company.

Ownership: Completed facilities and water rights shall be owned, operated, and
maintained by the Company, including and through meters as detailed in the Tariff
Rules and Regulations. The Company shall then bear the ongoing costs of normal
operation and maintenance of the supply, storage and delivery infrastructure of the
extension to the Company's system

Temporary Service: A permit shall be obtained from the Company before any
temporary service connection can be made to any part of the waterworks system or
before any work can be performed upon old or new connections. The Customer will
pay the total cost for the installation and removal of any service extension of a
temporary nature. Such costs will be estimated and paid before work is begun on the
extension. All work shall comply with the Company’s rules and regulations and meet
the minimum standards of the Utah Department of Environmental Quality.
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REGULATION B

DEPOSITS AND GUARANTEES

Bl.

B2.

B3.

Security Deposits. A security deposit is required of all Customers, without
discrimination, to assure payment of bills. Such deposits shall cover the base water rate
for a minimum of sixty (60) days or $200.00, whichever is greater. The security
deposit may be waived if the Customer can provide one (1) of the following:

a. A letter of credit from another utility company (minimum of twelve (12) months
previous service), with no delinquent charges in twelve (12) months, no return
payment charges, no disconnections for non-payment, and no bankruptcies or liens
filed.

b. Third-party guarantees in lieu of security deposits shall be permitted from qualified
guarantors. The Company shall consider a guarantor of residential service qualified
if the guarantor is a current Customer of the Company and has not received a 10-
day written notice of disconnection within the last twelve (12) months.

Installments. When a security deposit is required, the Customer shall have the right to
pay the deposit in three (3) equal monthly installments if the first installment is paid
when the deposit is required.

Return of Deposits. The deposit paid, plus accrued interest, is eligible for return to the
Customer after the Customer has paid the bill on time for twelve (12) consecutive
months. Deposits shall earn interest at the then established bank saving rate of the
Company’s banking institution. The company shall provide to the Customer a bank
statement summarizing the interest earned on the Customer’s deposit account.
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REGULATION C

ELIGIBILITY FOR SERVICE

Cl.

Co

C3.

Eligibility for Service: Residential water service is conditioned upon payment of
deposits, where required, and upon payment of any outstanding debts for past utility
service which are owed by the applicant to the Company. Service may also be denied
when unsafe conditions exist, when the applicant has furnished false information to get
water service, or when the applicant/Customer has tampered with Company-owned
equipment, such as meters and lines. An applicant is ineligible for service if at the time
of application, the applicant is cohabiting with a delinquent account holder, whose
utility service was previously disconnected for non- payment, and the applicant and
delinquent account holder also cohabited while the delinquent account holder received
the Company’s service, whether the service was received at the applicant’s present
address or another address.

Customer’s Statement of Rights and Responsibilities. The Company will provide a
copy of the “Customer’s Statement of Rights and Responsibilities” when water service
is extended to an account holder, annually, and upon first notice of an impending
service disconnection.

Shared Meter or Appliance. In rental property where one meter provides service to
more than one unit or where appliances provide service to more than one unit or to
other occupants at the premises, and this situation is known to the Company, the
Company will recommend that service be in the property owner’s name and the
property owner be responsible for the service. However, a qualifying applicant will be
allowed to put service in their own name provided the applicant acknowledges that the
request for services is entered into willingly, and such applicant has knowledge of the
account responsibility.
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REGULATION D

BILLING

DI.

D2.

D3.

D4.

Billing Cycle. The Company shall use a billing cycle that has an interval between
regular periodic billing statements of not greater than two (2) months.

Meter Reading. If a meter reader cannot gain access to a meter to make an actual
reading, the Company shall take appropriate additional measures in an effort to get an
actual meter reading. These measures shall include, but are not limited to, scheduling of
a meter reading at other than normal business hours, making an appointment for meter
reading, or providing a prepaid postal card with a notice of instruction upon which an
account holder may record a meter reading. If after two (2) regular route visits, access
has not been achieved; the Company will notify the Customer that arrangements need
to be made to have the meter read as a condition of continuing service.

Periodic Billing Statement. Except when a residential utility service account is
considered uncollectible or when collection or termination procedures have been
started, the Company shall mail or deliver an accurate bill to the account holder for
each billing cycle at the end of which there is an outstanding debit balance for current
service, a statement which the account holder may keep, setting forth each of the
following disclosures to the extent applicable:

a. the outstanding previous balance in the account at the beginning of the current
billing cycle;

b. the amount of current service charges debited to the account during the current
billing cycle;

¢. the amount of payments made to the account during the current billing cycle;

d. the amount of credits other than payments to the account during the current billing
cycle;

e. the amount of late payment charges debited to the account during the current billing
cycle;

f. the closing date of the current billing cycle and the outstanding balance due in the
account on that date;

g. a listing of the statement due date by which payment of the new balance must be
made to avoid assessment of a late charge;

h. a statement that a late charge, expressed as an annual percentage rate and a periodic
rate, may be assessed against the account for late payment; and

i. the following notice: “If you have any questions about this bill, please call the
Company.”

Latc Charge. The Company shall charge a late fee at the amount consistent with this
Tariff for each billing period where there exists a prior balance owing on a Customer’s
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Ds.

Dé6.

D7.

account by following the procedures set forth in Regulation F: Termination of
Residential Service.

Statement Due Date. Bills covering charges shall be due on the first of the month
after the date the current bill was prepared. An account holder shall have thirty (30)
days from the date the current bill was prepared to pay the new balance, which date
shall be the statement due date.

Disputed Bill. In disputing a periodic billing statement, a Customer shall first try to
resolve the issue by discussion with the Company’s personnel. The Company’s
personnel shall investigate the disputed issue and shall try to resolve that issue by
negotiation. If the negotiation does not resolve the dispute, the account holder may
obtain an informal review by contacting the Division of Public Utilities and a formal
review with the Utah Public Service Commission. While an account holder is
proceeding with either an informal or formal review of a dispute, no termination of
service shall be permitted if amounts not disputed are paid when due.

Unpaid Bills. When transferring unpaid bills from inactive or past accounts to active
or current accounts the following limitations shall apply:

a. The Company may only transfer bills between similar classes of service, such as
residential to residential, not commercial to residential.

b. Unpaid amounts for billing cycles older than four (4) years before the time of
transfer cannot be transferred to an active or current account.

¢. The Customer shall be provided with an explanation of the transferred amounts
from earlier billing cycles and informed of the Customer's ability to dispute the
transferred amount,
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REGULATION E

DEFERRED PAYMENT

El.

E2.

E3.

E4.

Right to Deferred Payment Agreement. A Customer who cannot pay a delinquent
account balance on demand shall have the right to receive residential utility service
under a Deferred Payment Agreement, unless the delinquent account balance is the
result of unauthorized usage of, or diversion of, residential water service, in which case
the use of a Deferred Payment Agreement is at the Company’s discretion. The terms of
a Deferred Payment Agreement shall be set forth in a written agreement entered into by
both the Company and the Customer. A copy of the Deferred Payment Agreement shall
be provided to the Customer.

Deferred Payment Agreement. An applicant or Customer shall have the right to a
Deferred Payment Agreement, consisting of twelve (12) months of equal monthly
payments, if the full amount of the delinquent balance plus interest shall be paid within
the twelve (12) months and if the Customer agrees to pay the initial monthly
installment. The Customer shall have the right to pre-pay a monthly installment, pre-
pay a portion of, or the total amount of the outstanding balance due under a Deferred
Payment Agreement at any time during the term of the agreement. The Customer also
has the option, when negotiating a Deferred Payment Agreement, to include the amount
of the current month’s bill plus the reconnection charges in the total amount to be paid
over the term of the Deferred Payment Agreement. If a finance charge is assessed, the
Deferred Payment Agreement shall contain notice of the charge.

Payment Options.
a. If the Company has a budget billing or equal payment plan available, it shall offer
the Customer the option of:
i. agreeing to pay monthly bills for future residential water service as they
become due, plus the monthly deferred payment installment, or
ii. agreeing to pay a budget billing or equal payment plan amount set by the
Company for future residential water service plus the monthly deferred
payment installment.

b. If the Company does not have budget billing or equal payment plans available:
i.  When negotiating a deferred payment agreement, the Customer shall agree
to pay the monthly bills for future residential water service plus the monthly

deferred payment installment necessary to liquidate the delinquent bill.

Breach. Ifa Customer breaches a condition or term of a Deferred Payment Agreement,

the Company may treat that breach as a delinquent account and shall have the right to

disconnect service pursuant to the termination rules, subject to the right of the Customer to
seek review of the alleged breach by the Utah Public Service Commission, and the Customer
shall not have the right to a renewal of the Deferred Payment Agreement. Renewal of Deferred

Payment Agreement after the breach shall be at the Company’s discretion.
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REGULATION F

TERMINATION OF RESIDENTIAL SERVICE

FI1.

FF2.

F3.

F4.

Delinquent Account. A delinquent account is a water service bill which has remained
unpaid beyond the statement due date.

Notice. When an account is a delinquent account, the Company, before termination of
service, shall issue a written late notice to inform the account holder of the delinquent
status. A late notice or reminder notice will include the following information:

a. A statement that the account is a delinquent account and should be paid promptly;

b. A statement that the account holder should call the Company if he/she has a
question concerning the account;

c. A statement of the delinquent account balance, using a term such as "delinquent
account balance."

A copy of the "Statement of Customer Rights and Responsibilities" will be issued to the
account holder with the first notice of impending service disconnection.

Investigation and Negotiation. When the Customer responds to a late notice or
reminder notice the Company will investigate disputed issues and try to resolve the
issues by negotiation. During this investigation and negotiation, no other action shall
be taken to disconnect the residential utility service if the Customer pays the undisputed
portion of the account.

Reasons for Termination of Service.
a. Residential utility service may be terminated for the following reasons:

i.  Nonpayment of a delinquent account;

ii.  Nonpayment of a deposit when required,;

iti.  Failure to comply with the terms of a deferred payment agreement or a Utah
Public Service Commission order;

iv.  Unauthorized use of, or diversion of, residential utility service or tampering
with wires, pipes, meters, or other equipment;

v.  Subterfuge or deliberately furnishing false information; or

vi.  Failure to provide access to the meter during the regular route visit to the
premises following proper notification and an opportunity to make
arrangements.

b. The following shall be insufficient grounds for termination of service:
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F5.

Feé.

i. A delinquent account, accrued before a divorce or separate maintenance
action in the courts, in the name of a former spouse, cannot be the basis for
termination of the current account holder's service;

ii.  Cohabitation of a current account holder with a delinquent account holder
whose utility service was previously terminated for non-payment, unless the
current and delinquent account holders also cohabited while the delinquent
account holder received the Company's service, whether the service was
received at the current account holder's present address or another address;

iii.  When the delinquent account balance is less than $25.00, unless no payment
has been made for two (2) months;

iv.  Failure to pay an amount in bona fide dispute before the Commission;

v.  Payment delinquency for third party services billed by the Company, unless
prior approval is obtained from the Utah Public Service Commission; and

vi.  Complaints filed with either or both the Company or regulatory agencies.

Restrictions upon Termination of Service During Serious Illness. Residential utility
service may not be terminated and will be restored if terminated when the termination
of service will cause or aggravate a serious illness or infirmity of a person living in the
residence. Upon receipt of a statement, signed by an osteopathic physician, a
physician, a surgeon, a naturopathic physician, a physician assistant, a nurse, or a
certified nurse midwife, as the providers are defined and licensed under Title 58 of the
Utah Code, either on a form obtained from the Company or on the health care
provider's letterhead stationery, which statement legibly identifies the health infirmity
or potential health hazard, and how termination of service will injure the person's health
or aggravate their iliness, the Company will continue or restore residential utility
service for the period set forth in the statement or one month, whichever is less;
however, the person whose health is threatened or illness aggravated may petition the
Utah Public Service Commission for an extension of time. During the period of
continued service, the account holder is liable for the cost of residential utility service.
No action to terminate the service may be undertaken, however, until the end of the
period of continued service.

Restrictions upon Termination of Service to Residences with Life-Supporting
Equipment. The Company will not terminate service to a residence in which the
Customer or a resident is known by the Company to be using an iron lung, respirator,
dialysis machine, or other life-supporting equipment whose normal operation requires
continuation of the Company's service, without specific prior approval by the
Commission. Account holders eligible for this protection may obtain it by filing a
written notice with the Company, which notice form is to be obtained from the
Company, signed and supported by a statement and specifically identifying the life-
support equipment that requires the Company's service. Thereupon, the Company shall
mark and identify the applicable meter.
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F7. Termination of Service Without Notice. The Company may terminate residential
utility service without notice when, in its judgment, a clear emergency or serious health
or safety hazard exists for so long as the conditions exist, or when there is unauthorized
use or diversion of residential utility service or tampering with wires, pipes, meters, or
other equipment owned by the Company. The Company shall immediately try to notify
the Customer of the termination of service and the reasons therefor.

F8.  Notice of Proposed Termination of Service. At least ten (10) calendar days before a
proposed termination of residential utility service, the Company shall give written
notice of disconnection for nonpayment to the Customer. The 10-day time period is
computed from the date the bill is postmarked. The notice shall be given by first class
mail or delivery to the premises and shall contain a summary of the following
information:

a. statement of Customer Rights and Responsibilities under existing state law and
Utah Public Service Commission rules;

b. The Utah Public Service Commission-approved policy on termination of service for
the Company;

c. the availability of deferred payment agreements and sources of possible financial
assistance, including but not limited to State and Federal energy assistance
programs;

d. informal and formal procedures to dispute bills and to appeal adverse decisions,
including the Utah Public Service Commission's address and telephone number;

e. specific steps, printed in a conspicuous fashion that may be taken by the Customer
to avoid termination of service;

f. the date on which payment arrangements must be made to avoid termination of
service; and

g. a conspicuous statement, in Spanish, that the notice is a termination of service
notice and that the Company has a Spanish edition of its Customer information
pamphlet and whether it has personnel available during regular business hours to
communicate with Spanish-speaking Customers.

F9.  Personal Notification. At least forty eight (48) hours before termination of service is
scheduled, the Company will make good faith efforts to notify the account holder or an
adult member of the household, by mail, by telephone or by a personal visit to the
residence. If personal notification has not been made either directly by the Company or
by the Customer in response to a mailed notice, the Company will leave a written
termination of service notice at the residence. Personal notification, such as a visit to
the residence or telephone conversation with the Customer, is required only during the
winter months, October 1 through March 31. Other months of the year, the mailed 48-
hour notice can be the final notice before the termination of service. If termination of
service is not accomplished within fifteen (15) business days following the 48-hour
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F13.

F14.

notice, the Company will follow the same procedures for another 48-hour notice.

Third-Party Notification. The Company will send duplicate copies of 10-day
termination of service notices to a third party designated by the account holder and
shall make reasonable efforts to personally contact the third party designated by the
account holder before termination of service occurs, if the third party resides within its
service area. The Company shall inform its Customers of the third-party notification
procedure at the time of application for service and at least once each year.

Rental Property. In rental property situations where the tenant is not the account
holder, and that fact is known to the Company, the Company will post a notice of
proposed termination of service on the premises in a conspicuous place and will make
reasonable efforts to give actual notice to the occupants by personal visits or other
appropriate means at least five (5) calendar days before the proposed termination of
service. The posted notice will contain the information specified above. This notice
provision applies to residential premises when the account holder has requested
termination of service or the account holder has a delinquent bill. If nonpayment is the
basis for the termination of service, the Company will also advise the tenants that they
may continue to receive utility service for an additional thirty (30) days by paying the
charges due for the 30-day period just past.

Termination Hours. Upon expiration of the notice of proposed termination of service,
the Company may terminate residential utility service. Except for service diversion or
for safety considerations, utility service shall not be disconnected between Thursday at
4:00 p.m. and Monday at 9:00 a.m. or on legal holidays recognized by Utah, or other
times the Company’s business offices are not open for business. Service may be
disconnected only between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.

Customer-Requested Termination of Service. The Customer shall advise the
Company at least three (3) days in advance of the day on which he/she wants service
disconnected to his/her residence. The Company will disconnect the service within four
(4) working days of the requested disconnect date. The Customer will not be liable for
the services rendered to or at the address or location after the four (4) days, unless
access to the meter has been delayed by the Customer.

Non-Occupants. A Customer who is not an occupant at the residence for which
termination of service is requested shall advise the Company at least 10 (ten) days in
advance of the day on which he/she wants service disconnected and sign an affidavit
that he/she is not requesting termination of service as a means of evicting his/her
tenants. Alternatively, the Customer may sign an affidavit that there are no occupants at
the residence for which termination of service is requested and thereupon the
disconnection may occur within four (4) days of the requested disconnection date.
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F15. Restrictions Upon Termination of Service Practices. The Company will not use
termination of service practices other than those set forth in these regulations. The
Company shall have the right to use or pursue legal methods to ensure collections of
obligations due it.

F16. Reconnection of Discontinued Service. The Company will have personnel available
twenty four (24) hours each day to reconnect utility service. Service will be
reconnected as soon as possible, but no later than the next generally recognized
business day after the Customer has requested reconnection and complied with all
necessary conditions for reconnection of service; which may include payment of
reconnection charges and compliance with deferred payment agreement terms.
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REGULATION G
INFORMAL REVIEW, MEDIATION AND FORMAL REVIEW

Gl. Informal Review. A Customer who is unable to resolve a dispute with the Company
concerning a matter subject to Utah Public Service Commission jurisdiction may obtain
informal review of the dispute by a designated employee within the Division of Public
Utilities.  The procedures for informal review shall be as set forth in Utah
Administrative Rule R746-200-8.

G2. Mediation. If the Company or the complainant determines that they cannot resolve the
dispute by themselves, either of them may request that the Division attempt to mediate
the dispute, as set forth in Utah Administrative Rule R746-200-8.

G3. Formal Review. The Utah Public Service Commission, upon its own motion or upon
the petition of any person, may initiate formal or investigative proceedings upon
matters arising out of informal complaints.
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REGULATION H

STATEMENT OF UTILITY CUSTOMER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The Utah Public Service Commission has established rules about utility/consumer/

company relationships. These rules cover payment of bills, late charges, security deposits,
handling complaints, service disconnection and other matters. These rules assure Customers of
certain rights and outline Customer responsibilities.

Customer Rights. The Utility (Water) Company will:

Provide service if you are a qualified applicant.

Offer you at least one (1) 12-month deferred payment plan if you have a financial
emergency.

Let you pay a security deposit in three (3) installments, if one is required.

Follow specific procedures for service disconnection, which include providing you
notice postmarked at least ten (10) days before service is disconnected.

Adyvise you of sources of possible financial assistance in paying your bill.

Continue service for a reasonable time if you provide a physician’s statement that a
medical emergency exists in your home.

Give you written information about Utah Public Service Commission rules and your
rights and responsibilities as a Customer under those rules.

Customer Responsibilities. You, the Customer will:

Use services safely and pay for them promptly.

Contact the Company when you have a problem with payment, service, safety, billing,
or customer service.

Notify the Company about billing or other errors.

Contact the Company when you anticipate a payment problem to attempt to develop a
payment plan.

Notify the Company when you are moving to another residence.

Notify the Company about stopping service in your name or about stopping service
altogether.

Permit access for meter readers and other essential Company personnel and equipment.

To contact the Company, call the telephone number shown on your utility bill.

If you have a problem, call the Company first. If you cannot resolve the problem you may
obtain an informal review of the dispute by calling the Utah State Division of Public Utilities
Complaint Office at the following telephone number: (801) 530-7622 in Salt Lake City or
(800) 874-0904 Toll Free Statewide.
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- BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF UTAH -

In the Matter of the Rates of Community

Water Company, LLC

DOCKET NO. 16-098-01

ORDER APPROVING GENERAL
RATE INCREASE

I. Procedural History.

ISSUED: November 28, 2016

1. On June 13, 2016, the Division of Public Utilities (Division) filed a petition with the

Public Service Commission of Utah (Commission) to increase rates and establish other

fees and charges in the tariff of Community Water Company, LLC (CWC).

2. On August 25, 2016, CWC filed an application for an interim rate increase, pursuant to

Utah Code § 54-7-12(4).

3. The hearing on the interim rates was held on September 13, 2016. On September 15,

2016, the Commission issued an order approving the following interim rate schedule:

Rate Schedule

Monthly rates

Monthly water usage in Kgals'

Standby rate $17.25

Base rate per connected $33.20 0 Kgals

customer

Tier 1 $0.30/K gal 0 Kgals to 12 Kgals

Tier 2 $0.60/K gal 12.001 Kgals to 24 Kgals
Tier 3 $1.20/Kgal 24.001 Kgals to 36 Kgals
Tier 4 $2.40/K gal 36.001 Kgals to 48 Kgals
Tier 5 $4.80/Kgal over 48 Kgals

! One Kgal equals 1,000 gallons of water,



Miscellaneous Fees and Charges
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Service connection fee

$3,750.00

Turn-on service for existing connection

$25.00

Turn-off service for non-payment of charges or at owner's request $25.00

Customer late fee (plus 18% interest)

$10.00/month

Returned check fee

$10.00

4, CWC applied the interim rates to customers' water usage during the month of October

2016.

5. Following the hearing on the interim rates, the Division obtained and reviewed additional

data concerning CWC's operations, and therefore proposed an amended rate schedule, as

follows:

Rate Schedule

Monthly rates

Monthly water usage in Kgals

Standby rate $16.05

Base rate per connected $30.65 0 Kgals

customer

Tier 1 $0.70/K gal 0 Kgals to 12 Kgals

Tier 2 $1.40/Kgal 12.001 Kgals to 24 Kgals
Tier 3 $2.80/Kgal 24.001 Kgals to 36 Kgals
Tier 4 $4.20/K gal 36.001 Kgals to 48 Kgals
Tier 5 $6.30/Kgal over 48 Kgals

Miscellaneous Fees and Charges

Service connection fee

$3,750.00

Turn-on service for existing connection

$25.00

Turn-off service for non-payment of charges or at owner's request $25.00

Customer late fee (plus 18% interest)

$10.00/month

Returned check fee

$10.00

6. The Division has also proposed changes to provisions other than rates that are set forth in

CWC's tariff,
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7. The hearing regarding a general rate increase for CWC was held on November 16, 2016.
Emily Lewis and Steven Clyde appeared as counsel for CWC, joined by witnesses Mike
Folkman and Stacy Wilson.? Assistant Attorney General Patricia Schmid appeared as
counsel for the Division, joined by witnesses William Duncan and Mark Long.?
Intervenors Francis Amendola, E. Scott Savage, Terry Lange, William Grenney, and Van
J. Martin appeared in person. Intervenors Art Brothers and Guy Rawson did not
participate.

8. A public hearing was held on November 16, 2016. No members of the public appeared to
comment or testify.

IL. Findings of Fact.

1. CWC's infrastructure is aged and partially non-functional.

2. In order to pay for the equipment and maintenance necessary to keep CWC
operational, CWC requires additional revenue.

3. The final rate schedule proposed by the Division is sufficient to cover CWC's fixed
costs and to fund a capital reserve account that will allow CWC to begin making
necessary repairs. The Division's proposed final rate schedule is acceptable to all
parties.

4. The additional tariff changes proposed by the Division are acceptable to all parties.

2 Mr. Folkman is a system operator with Summit Water Distribution Company and is contracted to do business with
Community Water Company, Ms. Wilson is an office coordinator for Community Water Company.

3 Mr. Duncan is the manager of the Telecommunications and Water section of the Division. Mr. Long is a utility
analyst for the Division.
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5. The billing plan proposed by CWC complies with the Division's proposed final rate

schedule and will allot each connected customer full usage at each tier of that

schedule. For purposes of CWC's billing plan, "connected customer” includes:

a,

€.

a single-family dwelling with an individual meter that tracks both culinary and
irrigation use;

a commercial building with one or more meters to track both culinary and
irrigation use;

a unit in a condominium complex with an individual meter to track culinary
use and a shared meter to track irrigation use;

a unit in a condominium complex with a shared meter to track both culinary
and irrigation use; and

a clubhouse in a condominium complex.

CWC's proposed billing plan is acceptable to all parties.

The Hidden Pine condominium complex is one of CWC's customers. In order to allot

the Hidden Pine clubhouse full usage at each tier, CWC must install a dedicated

meter to track usage at the clubhouse.

7. CWC is able and willing to install a dedicated meter at the Hidden Pine clubhouse by

or before December 1, 2016, and does not object to being ordered to do so.

8. CWC is able to begin charging final approved rates by or before December 1, 2016.

9. CWC is able, within 60 days of the Commission's order, to true-up its billing under

the interim rates to reflect the final approved rates.
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10. CWC is able, within 60 days of the Commission's order, to file a revised tariff

incorporating both the final approved rates and the other tariff changes recommended
by the Division.
III.  Conclusions of Law,

Where the record demonstrates that all parties agree to the final rate schedule proposed
by the Division, the Commission concludes that rate schedule to be just, reasonable, and in the
public interest. Similarly, where there is no dispute regarding the other tariff changes proposed
by the Division or the billing plan proposed by CWC, the Commission concludes both to be just,
reasonable, and in the public interest.

ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission approves the Division's final rate schedule as

follows:

Rate Schedule
Monthly rates Monthly water usage in Kgals
Standby rate $16.05
Base rate per connected $30.65 0 Kgals
customer
Tier 1 $0.70/K gal 0 Kgals to 12 Kgals
Tier 2 $1.40/Kgal 12.001 Kgals to 24 Kgals
Tier 3 $2.80/Kgal 24.001 Kgals to 36 Kgals
Tier 4 $4.20/K gal 36.001 Kgals to 48 Kgals
Tier 5 $6.30/Kgal over 48 Kgals
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Miscellaneous Fees and Charges
Service connection fee $3,750.00
Turn-on service for existing connection $25.00
Turn-off service for non-payment of charges or at owner's request $25.00
Customer late fee (plus 18% interest) $10.00/month
Returned check fee $10.00

Community Water Company shall install a dedicated meter to track usage at the Hidden
Pines clubhouse no later than December 1, 2016.

The final approved rates shall apply retroactively to customers' water usage in any month
during which Community Water Company billed under the interim rate schedule. Within 60 days
of the date of this order, Community Water Company shall true-up its billing to reflect the final
approved rates, effective as of October 1, 2016.*

Within 60 days of the date of this order, Community Water Company shall file a revised
tariff to reflect the final approved rates and the other tariff modifications recommended by the
Division,

DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah, November 28, 2016.

[s/ Jennie T. Jonsson
Administrative Law Judge

4 Community Water Company is not required to obtain Commission approval of any true-up calculation. If a
customer disputes Community Water Company's calculation, the parties should attempt to resolve the dispute
privately. If the parties cannot reach a resolution, the affected customer has the option of filing a complaint with the
Division.
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Approved and confirmed November 28, 2016 as the Order of the Public Service

Commission of Utah.

/s/ Thad LeVar, Chair

/s/ David R. Clark, Commissioner

/s/ Jordan A. White, Commissioner

Attest:

/s/ Gary L. Widerburg

Commission Secretary
DW#290489

Notice of Opportunity for Agency Review or Rehearing

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann, §§ 63G-4-301 and 54-7-15, a party may seek agency review
or rehearing of this order by filing a request for review or rehearing with the Commission within
30 days after the issuance of the order. Responses to a request for agency review or rehearing
must be filed within 15 days of the filing of the request for review or rehearing. If the
Commission fails to grant a request for review or rehearing within 20 days after the filing of a
request for review or rehearing, it is deemed denied. Judicial review of the Commission’s final
agency action may be obtained by filing a Petition for Review with the Utah Supreme Court
within 30 days after final agency action. Any Petition for Review must comply with the
requirements of Utah Code Ann. §§ 63G-4-401, 63G-4-403, and the Utah Rules of Appellate
Procedure.
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I CERTIFY that on November 28, 2016, a true and correct copy of the foregoing was
served upon the following as indicated below:

By Electronic-Mail:

Justin Atwater (jatwater@tc-fc.com)
Community Water Company, LLC
Counsel for Community Water Company

Spencer White (swhite@replayresorts.com)
Community Water Company, LLC

Francis Amendola (dolas@comcast.net)

E. Scott Savage (ssavage@sywlaw.com)

Terry Lange (TLange55@comcast.net)

William Grenney (wgrenney(@gmail.com)

Van J, Martin (van.deepshade@gmail.com)

Art Brothers (artbros@xmission.com)

Guy Rawson (808rawson(@gmail.com)

Patricia Schmid (pschmid@utah.gov)
Justin Jetter (jjetter@utah.gov)
Assistant Utah Attorneys General

Erika Tedder (etedder@utah.gov)
Division of Public Utilities

By Hand-Delivery:

Office of Consumer Services
160 East 300 South, 2™ Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Administrative Assistant



