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PRELIMINARY STATEMENT 
 

Community Water Company (“Company”) is a private water system which provides water 
to approximately 500 residential and commercial customers located in the Snyderville Basin area 
near Park City, Utah. The Company provides both culinary and irrigation water. Water service 
is provided through the Company’s water system and is paid for by customers through monthly 
charges, further described herein. No significant changes have occurred to the Company system 
since the last Tariff was issued. 

 
At the conclusion of a full hearing on the merits for an increase in the rate and tariff changes 

for Community Water Company, the Public Service Commission issued an Order on May 14, 
2018. (Attachment A). Tariff No. 4 is filed pursuant to that Order. The final rates and tariff 
modifications included herein are consistent with the Order and recommendations of the Utah 
Division of Public Utilities. Tariff No. 3 supersedes Tariff No. 1, effective January 18, 1988 and 
Tariff No. 2, effective February 1, 2002, and Tariff No.3 effective, November 28, 
2016. 

 
The Company believes, in good faith, the filing of Tariff No. 4 is in compliance with all 

applicable state law and Public Service Commission rules. Copies of Tariff No. 4 are available 
from the Company for a nominal copying charge. 
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SERVICE AREA AND WATER SYSTEM MAP 
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WATER SERVICE RATES AND FEES SCHEDULE 
 

The Rate Schedule below is applicable to each “connected customer.” For Company 
purposes a “connected customer” includes: 

a. a single family dwelling with an individual meter that tracks both culinary and 
irrigation use; 

b. a commercial building with one or more meters to track both culinary and irrigation 
use; 

c. a unit in a condominium complex with a meter to track culinary use and a shared meter 
to track irrigation use; 

d. a unit in a condominium complex with a shared meter to track both culinary and 
irrigation use; and 

e. a clubhouse in a condominium complex. 
 
The Company will not supply any water at any time to any person without a valid promise 
from each person to pay the Company for the water supplied. 

 
 During 

construction 
of the 

replacement 
tank 

At Completion 
of replacement 
tank (Phase 1) 

At completion 
of remaining 
infrastructure 
construction 

(Phase 2) 
Base Rate Connected Customers $51.05 $67.29 $115.41 

Base Rate Standby Customers $22.85 $39.09 $87.21 

    
Usage Rates (monthly per 1000 
gallons) 

   
0 – 6,000 $0.70   
Over 6,000 $5.30   

    
Usage Rates (monthly per 1000 
gallons) 

   
0 – 12,000  $0.70 $0.70 

12,001 – 24,000  $1.40 $1.40 

24,001 – 36,000  $2.80 $2.80 

36,001 – 48,000  $5.60 $5.60 

Above 48,000  $11.20 $11.20 

    
Annual Capital Reserve Funding $52,938 $81,587 $116,232 

Monthly Capital Reserve Funding $4,412 $6,799 $9,686 
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Miscellaneous Fees and Charges 
Service Connection Fee $3,750.00 
Turn-On Service for Existing Connection $25.00 
Turn-Off Service for Non-Payment of Charges or at 
Owner’s Request $25.00 

Customer Late Fee (plus 18% interest) $10.00 per month 
Returned Check Fee $10.00 

 
Rate Table Notes: 

 
1. Standby Fees apply to lots where service mains are in place and where water service 
is available, but no water service has been connected and no water service is used; Or 
where water service has been disconnected by the Company at the request of 
the customer; or involuntarily by the Company after proper notice to the 
Customer. 
2. “During Construction of the Replacement Tank” refers to the period of time 
commencing on the effective date of this Tariff No. 4 and terminating on the date a water 
holding tank sufficient to meet the Company’s storage needs and fire flow requirement (the 
“Replacement Tank”) is completed and placed into service. 
3. “At Completion of Replacement Tank (Phase 1)” refers to the period of time 
commencing on the date the Replacement Tank is placed into service and terminating on the 
date the Company receives administrative PSC approval to charge customers for infrastructure 
improvements (as described below). 
4. “At Completion of Remaining Infrastructure Construction (Phase 2)” refers to the 
period of time commencing on the date the Company receives administrative PSC approval to 
charge customers for infrastructure improvements (as described below) and continuing in 
perpetuity until this Tariff No. 4 is amended. 

 
RATE PHASING 

 

The Company shall charge the rates set forth above under the column “During Construction of 
the Replacement Tank” staring on the effective date of this Tariff No. 4. Upon completion of 
the Replacement Tank (or its functional equivalent), the Company shall file a completion 
certificate with the Commission, and all other information requested by the Commission 
following which the Company requests the Commission conduct an expedited administrative 
review and issue an order permitting the Company to cease charging the rates in the “During 
Construction of the Replacement Tank” column and commence charging the rates in the “At 
Completion of Replacement Tank (Phase 1)” column. If a functional equivalent is used for the 
Replacement Tank, then the Company shall provide the Division of Public Utilities all 
information the Division requires to make a determination of the impact of a functional 
equivalent on the rate charges listed herein. As the Company completes other necessary 
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infrastructure improvements the Company shall likewise submit a certificate of completion of 
such infrastructure improvements, and all other information requested by the Commission, and 
the Company requests the Commission conduct an expedited administrative review and issue 
an order permitting the Company to cease charging the rates in the “At Completion of 
Replacement Tank (Phase 1)” column and commence charging the rates in the “At Completion 
of Remaining Infrastructure (Phase 2)” column. At no time will the Company be permitted to 
charge rates above those set forth in “During Construction of the Replacement Tank” column 
above without an order from the Commission permitting the same. 

 
 

RULES AND REGULATIONS 
 

1. Service Connections. Any person desiring to obtain water service from the Company 
shall make an application to the Company in writing. As a condition of application 
approval, an applicant shall pay the Turn-on Fee. Additionally, as a condition of receiving 
water service, a Customer shall pay the Connection Fee for all first time water 
connections. The Connection Fee includes a meter, meter box, a cover, and a valved 
service line to the property line, all of which shall remain the sole and exclusive property 
of the Company. The meter and meter box will be located as directed by the Company. 
Any excavation and installation shall be made by the Company from the main line in the 
street to three (3) feet beyond the meter. The Connection charges shall apply to all new 
connections. 

 
2. Connections. No unauthorized person shall tap any water main or distribution pipe of 

the Company or insert therein any corporation cock, stopcock or any other fixture or 
appliance or alter or disturb any service pipe, corporation stop, curb stop, gate valve, 
hydrant, water meter or any other attachment, being part of the waterworks system and 
attached thereto. No person shall install any water service pipe or connect or disconnect 
any such service pipe with or from the mains or distribution pipes of said waterworks 
system, nor with or from any other service pipe now or hereafter connected with said 
system, nor make any repairs, additions to, or alterations of any such service pipe, tap, 
stopcock, or any other fixture or attachments connected with any such service pipe, 
without first obtaining a permit from the Company. All materials used and the installation 
thereof in the conveyance of Company water shall comply with the Utah Department of 
Environmental Quality standards and specifications. 

 
3. Service Line. A service line is defined as all water system facilities installed between the 

Customer unit and the meter. All service line materials and installation shall be provided 
and paid for by the applicant, except that the meter, meter box, and meter cover shall in 
all instances be installed and owned by the Company. A shut-off valve shall be provided 
by the Customer on each service line, in an accessible location separate from the water 
meter box. Installation of a service line shall be inspected and approved by the Company 
before the service line trench is backfilled. 
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4. Application for Permit. A permit shall be obtained from the Company before any 

service connection can be made to any part of the waterworks system or before any work 
performed can be performed upon old or new connections. Such permit shall be issued  
only  upon  written  application  on  forms  obtainable  from  the  Company. 
Applicants for water service shall furnish, lay and install at their own expense, all that 
portion of the service not provided by the Company, subject however, to the supervision 
and inspection of the Company. 

 
5. Metering of Service. All water delivered by the Company to its Customers shall be 

metered through water meters. Meters may be checked, inspected, or adjusted at the 
discretion of the Company, and shall not be opened or adjusted except by authorized 
representatives of the Company. Only authorized representatives of the Company shall 
open meter boxes to turn water service on or off except in case of emergency or when 
special permission is given by the Company. 

 
6. Meter Adjustment. If a meter fails to register at any time, the water delivered during 

such a period shall be billed at the rate for the average water usage of the preceding three 
months. In the event a meter is found to be recording at less than 97 percent (97%) or 
more than 103 percent (103%) of actual, the Company may make such adjustments to 
the Customer’s previous bill as are just and fair under the circumstances. 

 
7. Backflow Prevention. All applicants requesting connection to or Customers connected 

to the water system shall provide, at their sole expense, any and all back-flow 
prevention/protection device(s) deemed necessary by the Company and to comply with 
the regulations and rules of the Utah Department of Environmental Quality to protect the 
water quality of the water system from potential back-flow incidence. All Customers, at 
their sole expense, shall submit annually to the Company (in the springtime and before 
the Customer’s use of outside irrigation water) the required proof of certification of 
inspection of the Customer's back-flow prevention device(s). 

 
8. Regulated Usage. Whenever the Company shall determine that the amount of water 

available to its distribution system has diminished to such a volume that, unless restricted, 
the public health, safety and general welfare is likely to be endangered, the Company 
may prescribe rules and regulations to conserve the water supply during such emergency. 
Such rules and regulations may include, but shall not be limited to, the restriction to 
certain hours (or total prohibition) of the use of water for outdoor watering. 

 
9. Water Use Restriction. The owner or occupant of any building or premises entitled to 

the use of water from the Company shall not supply water to any other building or 
premises without written permission of the Company. The owner or occupant may not 
use any water from the Company that is not metered. 

 



Community Water Company Tariff No. 4 
Effective Date: June 1, 2018 
Filed Date: June 8, 2018 

Docket No. 17-098-01 

9 

 

10. Service Turn-on and Turn-off. Only authorized representatives of the Company shall 
turn water service on or off at the meter box, except in case of an emergency or when 
special permission is granted by the Company. Service may be turned off by the 
Company when so requested by the Customer, when the Customer fails to abide by 
these regulations, or as permitted by Utah Administrative Code R746-200-7, Termination of 
Service. Whenever the water is turned off at any premises, it shall not be turned on again until 
the Customer pays all delinquent balances owing, late charges, and reconnection fees as shown 
in the rate schedule. 

 
11. Disruption Liability. The Company shall use reasonable diligence to provide continuous 

water service to its Customers, and shall make a reasonable effort to furnish all Customers 
with a clean, pure supply of water that meets applicable State and Federal water 
guidelines. The Company shall not be held liable for damages to any Customer or water 
user by reason of any stoppage or interruption of water service caused by scarcity of 
water, accidents to works, water main alterations, additions or repairs, acts of God, acts 
of third persons, government interference, or other unavoidable causes beyond the 
Company’s control. 

 
12. Damage to Facilities. Costs of any damage resulting from the negligence and/or failure 

of owner, agent or tenant to properly protect the water meter or service line related to a 
service connection, or other facilities of the Company installed upon premises supplied 
with water, including but not limited to vandalism, fire, freezing, or construction work, 
shall be assessed against such Customer, owner, applicant, agent or tenant. No Customer 
or person shall tamper with or remove the meter, or interfere with the reading thereof. 

 
13. Reading of Meters.     All meters shall be read by the Company at least once every two 

(2) months, weather permitting, and charges shall be based upon meter readings except 
as provided for in paragraph 6 above. If the meters are inaccessible to read, for example 
during winter months, Customers shall be billed at the minimum usage amount. The 
actual winter usage, should it exceed the minimum usage amount during the winter 
months, shall be billed in total on the first billing which shows the first meter reading 
taken in the calendar year. 

 
14. Discontinuance of Service. Any Customer wishing to discontinue service shall notify 

the Company at least three (3) days in advance so that the meter can be read for a final 
billing.  Such final bill shall be due and payable upon receipt. 

 
15. Billing and Payments. The Company shall use a billing cycle that has an interval 

between regular periodic billing statements of not greater than two (2) months. Bills 
covering the charges will be issued and shall be due within thirty (30) days after being 
issued. If any Customer neglects or refuses to pay a water service bill or any other 
obligation due to the Company within thirty (30) days from the date of issuance, the 
Company’s employees shall have the right to go upon the premises and do such work as 
may be necessary to disconnect the water service. Before the service is renewed and 
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reconnected the delinquent bill or bills shall be paid in full, or payment arrangements 
satisfactory to the Company shall be made, and the established tariff charge for 
reconnection shall be paid. The Company may contract with a third party to handle all bills, 
billings, and Customer payments. The Company will notify the Customers of such arrangement. 

 
16. Capital Reserve Accounting Requirements. A Capital Reserve Account, targeted to 

equal the annual depreciation expense and annual amortization of the contribution in aid 
of construction of the Company’s water system assets and equipment, shall be 
established, subject to the following: 

a. All designated capital reserve fees generated from rates shall be deposited into the 
Capital Reserve Account. The Company shall deposit the amounts set forth in the 
Rate Table into a Capital Reserve Account on a monthly basis to equal the annual 
funding amounts. Any excess fees collected from overage rates, after deducting for 
any variable expenses shall be deposited in the Capital Reserve Account and shall be 
labeled as ‘Accelerated Capital Reserve Fees.’ 

b. All Capital Reserve Account funds shall be deposited in a restricted bank account 
such as a separate escrow account, within thirty (30) days from receipt of such 
payment. 

c. Withdrawals from the Capital Reserve Account shall be made for capital 
replacements and improvements only. 

d. In accordance with Utah Administrative Rule R746-401-3A, expenditures in excess 
of five (5) percent of total Utility Plant in Service shall require the Company to file 
a report with the Commission, at least thirty (30) days before the purchase or 
acquisition of the asset or project, and to obtain written Commission approval before 
transacting such acquisitions. 

e. Upon submission of the Annual Report to the Public Service Commission, the 
Company shall also provide a separate accounting of the Capital Reserve Account 
consisting of monthly bank statements encompassing the entire calendar year 
showing a series of deposits made within thirty (30) days from the receipt of rate 
payments for each billing cycle and withdrawals that meet requirements 17.a, b and 
c above. Such detailed accounting, including copies of bank statements and possible 
other sensitive information, shall be marked as “confidential.” 

f. The balance in the Capital Reserve Account shall be clearly identifiable in the 
financial statements as a restricted account. 

g. In identifying a qualifying expenditure for replacement or improvements that may be 
made from the Capital Reserve Account, the Company shall consider the following 
guidelines: 

i. Capital improvements are typically high cost items with long service lives, 
including, but not limited to, the distribution pipe main lines, storage 
reservoirs, wells, and surface water intakes. Expenditures that qualify as 
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capital expenditures are those that extend the life of an asset, enhance its 
original value with better quality materials or system upgrades, or replace 
such assets. 

ii. Capital improvements do not include minor expenses such as repair clamps, 
inventory parts and fittings, spare pieces of pipe kept to facilitate repairs, 
small tools, maintenance supplies such as paint or grease, service contracts, 
and other day-to-day supplies. Expenses for these items are properly 
classified as “operating and maintenance” expenses. 

iii. Additionally, it is not appropriate to use Capital Reserve Account funds 
received from existing Customers for system expansion, that is, to extend 
main lines to serve new areas or new Customers or to install new services. 
Funds for the expansion of the system should come from new development, 
impact fees, connection fees, assessments or other sources so that those 
benefiting from the improvement contribute the funds for its construction. 

h. In the event any payment from a Customer is a partial payment of any given billed 
invoice by the Company, that payment shall be used first to cover the fixed and 
variable expenses, and then to cover the Capital Reserve Fee. A reconciliation, 
clearly indicating the circumstances surrounding those instances when the Capital 
Reserve Account was not fully funded, shall be provided by the Company with the 
detailed ‘annual accounting’ of the Capital Reserve Account. 

i. The Company shall list the Customer’s charge for payment to the Capital Reserve 
Account as a separate line item (“Capital Reserve Fee”) in each billing statement. 

 
j. Interest accruing on funds held in the Capital Reserve Account shall become a part 

of the Capital Reserve Account and can only be used in accordance with this 
paragraph 16. 

 
17. Changes and Amendments. The Company reserves the right to change, amend or add 

to these Rules and Regulations as experience may show it to be necessary and as such 
amendments or changes are approved by the Utah Public Service Commission. 

 
18. Special Assessments. The Company reserves the right to levy special assessments as 

necessary to pay for or reimburse the Company for expenses attributed to emergency or 
necessary waterworks system improvements, maintenance, or repairs, subject to all 
necessary approvals of such special assessments by the Public Service Commission. 



Community Water Company Tariff No. 4 
Effective Date: June 1, 2018 
Filed Date: June 8, 2018 

Docket No. 17-098-01 

12 

 

REGULATION A 
 

FACILITY EXTENSION POLICY 
 
A1. Definition. An extension is any continuation of, or branch from, the nearest available 

existing water distribution line of the Company, including any increase of capacity of an 
existing line and/or existing supply and/or existing storage to meet the Customers’ 
requirements. 

 
A2. Costs. The total cost of extensions including engineering, labor, and materials shall be paid 

by the applicants or as agreed upon between the applicant and the Company as decided 
by the Company at the Company's sole discretion for such extensions. If, because of the 
extension and the addition of applicants as Customers, additional water rights, pumps, 
storage, or other water plant must be acquired, the Company may require the applicants 
to pay these costs. Where more than one Customer is involved in an extension the costs 
shall be pro-rated on the basis of the street frontage distances involved or upon such other 
basis as may be mutually agreed by the applicants. Sufficient valves, pressure reducing 
devices, fire hydrants and any other infrastructure installation mandated by the Company 
and/or the Utah Department of Environmental Quality must be designed to be included 
and installed with every installation. 

 
A3. Construction Standards. Minimum standards of the Company shall be met; which 

standards shall also comply with the standards of the Utah State Division of Drinking 
Water. Pipe sizes shall be designated by the Company. The pipeline shall be installed 
only along dedicated streets, highways or within utility easements, unless otherwise 
approved in writing by the Company. 

 
A4. Ownership: Completed facilities and water rights shall be owned, operated, and maintained 

by the Company, including and through meters as detailed in the Tariff Rules and 
Regulations. The Company shall then bear the ongoing costs of normal operation and 
maintenance of the supply, storage and delivery infrastructure of the extension to the 
Company's system 

 
A5. Temporary Service: A permit shall be obtained from the Company before  any  temporary 

service connection can be made to any part of the waterworks system or before any work 
can be performed upon old or new connections. The Customer will pay the total cost for 
the installation and removal of any service extension of a temporary nature. Such costs 
will be estimated and paid before work is begun on the extension. All work shall comply 
with the Company’s rules and regulations and meet the minimum standards of the Utah 
Department of Environmental Quality. 
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REGULATION B 
 

DEPOSITS AND GUARANTEES 
 
B1. Security Deposits. A security deposit is required of all Customers, without discrimination, 

to assure payment of bills. Such deposits shall cover the base water rate for a minimum 
of sixty (60) days or $200.00, whichever is greater.  The security deposit may be waived 
if the Customer can provide one (1) of the following: 

 
a. A letter of credit from another utility company (minimum of twelve (12) months 

previous service), with no delinquent charges in twelve (12) months, no return 
payment charges, no disconnections for non-payment, and no bankruptcies or liens 
filed. 

 
b. Third-party guarantees in lieu of security deposits shall be permitted from qualified 

guarantors. The Company shall consider a guarantor of residential service qualified 
if the guarantor is a current Customer of the Company and has not received a 10- day 
written notice of disconnection within the last twelve (12) months. 

 
B2. Installments.  When a security deposit is required, the Customer shall have the right to pay 

the deposit in three (3) equal monthly installments if the first installment is paid when 
the deposit is required. 

 
B3. Return of Deposits. The deposit paid, plus accrued interest, is eligible for return to the 

Customer after the Customer has paid the bill on time for twelve (12) consecutive months. 
Deposits shall earn interest at the then established bank saving rate of the Company’s 
banking institution. The company shall provide to the Customer a bank statement 
summarizing the interest earned on the Customer’s deposit account. 
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REGULATION C 
 

ELIGIBILITY FOR SERVICE 
 
C1. Eligibility for Service: Residential water service is conditioned upon payment of deposits, 

where required, and upon payment of any outstanding debts for past utility service which 
are owed by the applicant to the Company. Service may also be denied when unsafe 
conditions exist, when the applicant has furnished false information to get water service, 
or when the applicant/Customer has tampered with Company-owned equipment, such as 
meters and lines. An applicant is ineligible for service if at the time of application, the 
applicant is cohabiting with a delinquent account holder, whose utility service was 
previously disconnected for non- payment, and the applicant and delinquent account 
holder also cohabited while the delinquent account holder received the Company’s 
service, whether the service was received at the applicant’s present address or another 
address. 

 
C2. Customer’s Statement of Rights and Responsibilities. The Company will provide a copy 

of the “Customer’s Statement of Rights and Responsibilities” when water service is 
extended to an account holder, annually, and upon first notice of an impending service 
disconnection. 

 
C3. Shared Meter or Appliance.  In rental property where one meter provides service to more 

than one unit or where appliances provide service to more than one unit or to other 
occupants at the premises, and this situation is known to the Company, the Company will 
recommend that service be in the property owner’s name and the property owner be 
responsible for the service. However, a qualifying applicant will be allowed to put service 
in their own name provided the applicant acknowledges that the request for services is 
entered into willingly, and such applicant has knowledge of the account responsibility. 
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REGULATION D 
 

BILLING 
 
D1.  Billing Cycle.  The Company shall use a billing cycle that has an interval between   regular 

periodic billing statements of not greater than two (2) months. 
 
D2. Meter Reading.  If a meter reader cannot gain access to a meter to make an actual reading, 

the Company shall take appropriate additional measures in an effort to get an actual meter 
reading. These measures shall include, but are not limited to, scheduling of a meter 
reading at other than normal business hours, making an appointment for meter reading, 
or providing a prepaid postal card with a notice of instruction upon which an account 
holder may record a meter reading. If after two (2) regular route visits, access has not 
been achieved; the Company will notify the Customer that arrangements need to be made 
to have the meter read as a condition of continuing service. 

 
D3. Periodic Billing Statement. Except when a residential utility service account is considered 

uncollectible or when collection or termination procedures have been started, the 
Company shall mail or deliver an accurate bill to the account holder for each billing cycle 
at the end of which there is an outstanding debit balance for current service, a statement 
which the account holder may keep, setting forth each of the following disclosures to the 
extent applicable: 

 
a. the outstanding previous balance in the account at the beginning of the current 

billing cycle; 
b. the amount of current service charges debited to the account during the current 

billing cycle; 
c. the amount of payments made to the account during the current billing cycle; 
d. the amount of credits other than payments to the account during the current billing 

cycle; 
e. the amount of late payment charges debited to the account during the current billing 

cycle; 
f. the closing date of the current billing cycle and the outstanding balance due in the 

account on that date; 
g. a listing of the statement due date by which payment of the new balance must be 

made to avoid assessment of a late charge; 
h. a statement that a late charge, expressed as an annual percentage rate and a periodic 

rate, may be assessed against the account for late payment; and 
i. the following notice: “If you have any questions about this bill, please call the 

Company.” 
 
D4. Late Charge. The Company shall charge a late fee at the amount consistent with this Tariff 

for each billing period where there exists a prior balance owing on a   Customer’s 
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account by following the procedures set forth in Regulation F: Termination of 
Residential Service. 

 
D5.   Statement Due Date.   Bills covering charges shall be due on the first of the month    after 

the date the current bill was prepared. An account holder shall have thirty (30) days from 
the date the current bill was prepared to pay the new balance, which date shall be the 
statement due date. 

 
D6. Disputed Bill. In disputing a periodic billing statement, a Customer shall first try to resolve 

the issue by discussion with the Company’s personnel. The Company’s personnel shall 
investigate the disputed issue and shall try to resolve that issue by negotiation. If the 
negotiation does not resolve the dispute, the account holder may obtain an informal 
review by contacting the Division of Public Utilities and a formal review with the Utah 
Public Service Commission. While an account holder is proceeding with either an 
informal or formal review of a dispute, no termination of service shall be permitted if 
amounts not disputed are paid when due. 

 
D7.   Unpaid Bills.   When transferring unpaid bills from inactive or past accounts to active    or 

current accounts the following limitations shall apply: 
 

a. The Company may only transfer bills between similar classes of service, such as 
residential to residential, not commercial to residential. 

b. Unpaid amounts for billing cycles older than four (4) years before the time of transfer 
cannot be transferred to an active or current account. 

c. The Customer shall be provided with an explanation of the transferred amounts from 
earlier billing cycles and informed of the Customer's ability to dispute the transferred
amount. 
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REGULATION E 
 
DEFERRED PAYMENT 

E1. Right to Deferred Payment Agreement. A Customer who cannot pay a delinquent account 
balance on demand shall have the right to receive residential utility service under a 
Deferred Payment Agreement, unless the delinquent account balance is the result of 
unauthorized usage of, or diversion of, residential water service, in which case the use of 
a Deferred Payment Agreement is at the Company’s discretion. The terms of a Deferred 
Payment Agreement shall be set forth in a written agreement entered into by both the 
Company and the Customer. A copy of the Deferred Payment Agreement shall be 
provided to the Customer. 

E2. Deferred Payment Agreement. An applicant or Customer shall have the right to a Deferred 
Payment Agreement, consisting of twelve (12) months of equal monthly payments, if the 
full amount of the delinquent balance plus interest shall be paid within the twelve (12) 
months and if the Customer agrees to pay the initial monthly installment. The Customer 
shall have the right to pre-pay a monthly installment, pre- pay a portion of, or the total 
amount of the outstanding balance due under a Deferred Payment Agreement at any time 
during the term of the agreement. The Customer also has the option, when negotiating a 
Deferred Payment Agreement, to include the amount of the current month’s bill plus the 
reconnection charges in the total amount to be paid over the term of the Deferred Payment 
Agreement. If a finance charge is assessed, the Deferred Payment Agreement shall 
contain notice of the charge. 

E3. Payment Options. 
a. If the Company has a budget billing or equal payment plan available, it shall offer 

the Customer the option of: 
i. agreeing to pay monthly bills for future residential water service as they 

become due, plus the monthly deferred payment installment, or 
ii. agreeing to pay a budget billing or equal payment plan amount set by the 

Company for future residential water service plus the monthly deferred 
payment installment. 

b. If the Company does not have budget billing or equal payment plans available: 
i. When negotiating a deferred payment agreement, the Customer shall agree to 

pay the monthly bills for future residential water service plus the monthly 
deferred payment installment necessary to liquidate the delinquent bill. 

E4. Breach.  If a Customer breaches a condition or term of a Deferred Payment Agreement, 
the Company may treat that breach as a delinquent account and shall have the right to 

disconnect service pursuant to the termination rules, subject to the right of the Customer to 
seek review of the alleged breach by the Utah Public Service Commission, and the Customer 

shall not have the right to a renewal of the Deferred Payment Agreement. Renewal of Deferred 
Payment Agreement after the breach shall be at the Company’s discretion. 
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REGULATION F 

TERMINATION OF RESIDENTIAL SERVICE 

F1. Delinquent Account. A delinquent account is a water service bill which has   remained 
unpaid beyond the statement due date. 

 
F2. Notice. When an account is a delinquent account, the Company, before termination of 

service, shall issue a written late notice to inform the account holder of the delinquent 
status. A late notice or reminder notice will include the following information: 

 
a. A statement that the account is a delinquent account and should be paid promptly; 
b. A statement that the account holder should call the Company if he/she has a 

question concerning the account; 
c. A statement of the delinquent account balance, using a term such as "delinquent 

account balance." 
 

A copy of the "Statement of Customer Rights and Responsibilities" will be issued to the 
account holder with the first notice of impending service disconnection. 

 
F3. Investigation and Negotiation. When the Customer responds to a late notice  or reminder 

notice the Company will investigate disputed issues and try to resolve the issues by 
negotiation.  During this investigation and negotiation, no other action shall be taken to 
disconnect the residential utility service if the Customer pays the undisputed portion of 
the account. 

 
F4. Reasons for Termination of Service. 

a. Residential utility service may be terminated for the following reasons: 
 

i. Nonpayment of a delinquent account; 
ii. Nonpayment of a deposit when required; 

iii. Failure to comply with the terms of a deferred payment agreement or a Utah 
Public Service Commission order; 

iv. Unauthorized use of, or diversion of, residential utility service or tampering 
with wires, pipes, meters, or other equipment; 

v. Subterfuge or deliberately furnishing false information; or 
vi. Failure to provide access to the meter during the regular route visit to the 

premises following proper notification and an opportunity to make 
arrangements. 

 
b. The following shall be insufficient grounds for termination of service: 
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i. A delinquent account, accrued before a divorce or separate maintenance 
action in the courts, in the name of a former spouse, cannot be the basis for 
termination of the current account holder's service; 

ii. Cohabitation of a current account holder with a delinquent account holder 
whose utility service was previously terminated for non-payment, unless the 
current and delinquent account holders also cohabited while the delinquent 
account holder received the Company's service, whether the service was 
received at the current account holder's present address or another address; 

iii. When the delinquent account balance is less than $25.00, unless no payment 
has been made for two (2) months; 

iv. Failure to pay an amount in bona fide dispute before the Commission; 
v. Payment delinquency for third party services billed by the Company, unless 

prior approval is obtained from the Utah Public Service Commission; and 
vi. Complaints filed with either or both the Company or regulatory agencies. 

 
F5. Restrictions upon Termination of Service During Serious Illness. Residential utility 

service may not be terminated and will be restored if terminated when the termination of 
service will cause or aggravate a serious illness or infirmity of a person living in the 
residence. Upon receipt of a statement, signed by an osteopathic physician,  a  physician, 
a surgeon, a naturopathic physician, a physician assistant, a nurse, or a certified nurse 
midwife, as the providers are defined and licensed under Title 58 of the Utah Code, either 
on a form obtained from the Company or on the health care  provider's letterhead 
stationery, which statement legibly identifies the health infirmity or potential health 
hazard, and how termination of service will injure the person's health or aggravate their 
illness, the Company will continue or restore residential utility service for the period set 
forth in the statement or one month, whichever is less; however, the person whose health 
is threatened or illness aggravated may petition the Utah Public Service Commission for 
an extension of time. During the period of continued service, the account holder is liable 
for the cost of residential utility service. No action to terminate the service may be 
undertaken, however, until the end of the period of continued service. 

 
F6. Restrictions upon Termination of Service to Residences with Life-Supporting 

Equipment. The Company will not terminate service to a residence in which the 
Customer or a resident is known by the Company to be using an iron lung, respirator, 
dialysis machine, or other life-supporting equipment whose normal operation requires 
continuation of the Company's service, without specific prior approval by the 
Commission. Account holders eligible for this protection may obtain it by filing a written 
notice with the Company, which notice form is to be obtained from the Company, signed 
and supported by a statement and specifically identifying the life- support equipment that 
requires the Company's service. Thereupon, the Company shall mark and identify the 
applicable meter. 
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F7.  Termination of Service Without Notice.  The Company may terminate residential   utility 
service without notice when, in its judgment, a clear emergency or serious health or safety 
hazard exists for so long as the conditions exist, or when there is unauthorized use or 
diversion of residential utility service or tampering with wires, pipes, meters, or other 
equipment owned by the Company. The Company shall immediately try to notify the 
Customer of the termination of service and the reasons therefor. 

 
F8. Notice of Proposed Termination of Service. At least ten (10) calendar days before a 

proposed termination of residential utility service, the Company shall give written notice 
of disconnection for nonpayment to the Customer. The 10-day time period is computed 
from the date the bill is postmarked. The notice shall be given by first class mail or 
delivery to the premises and shall contain a summary of the following information: 

 
a. statement of Customer Rights and Responsibilities under existing state law and Utah 

Public Service Commission rules; 
b. The Utah Public Service Commission-approved policy on termination of service for 

the Company; 
c. the availability of deferred payment agreements and sources of possible financial 

assistance, including but not limited to State and Federal energy assistance programs; 
d. informal and formal procedures to dispute bills and to appeal adverse decisions, 

including the Utah Public Service Commission's address and telephone number; 
e. specific steps, printed in a conspicuous fashion that may be taken by the Customer to 

avoid termination of service; 
f. the date on which payment arrangements must be made to avoid termination of 

service; and 
g. a conspicuous statement, in Spanish, that the notice is a termination of service notice 

and that the Company has a Spanish edition of its Customer information pamphlet 
and whether it has personnel available during regular business hours to communicate 
with Spanish-speaking Customers. 

 
F9. Personal Notification. At least forty-eight (48) hours before termination of service is 

scheduled, the Company will make good faith efforts to notify the account holder or an 
adult member of the household, by mail, by telephone or by a personal visit to the 
residence. If personal notification has not been made either directly by the Company or 
by the Customer in response to a mailed notice, the Company will leave a written 
termination of service notice at the residence. Personal notification, such as a visit to the 
residence or telephone conversation with the Customer, is required only during the winter 
months, October 1 through March 31. Other months of the year, the mailed 48- hour 
notice can be the final notice before the termination of service. If termination of service 
is not accomplished within fifteen (15) business days following the 48-hour 
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notice, the Company will follow the same procedures for another 48-hour notice. 
 
F10. Third-Party Notification. The Company will send duplicate copies of 10-day termination 

of service notices to a third party designated by the account holder and shall make 
reasonable efforts to personally contact the third party designated by the account holder 
before termination of service occurs, if the third party resides within its service area. The 
Company shall inform its Customers of the third-party notification procedure at the time 
of application for service and at least once each year. 

 
F11.  Rental Property.  In rental property situations where the tenant is not the account holder, 

and that fact is known to the Company, the Company will post a notice of proposed 
termination of service on the premises in a conspicuous place and will make reasonable 
efforts to give actual notice to the occupants by personal visits or other appropriate means 
at least five (5) calendar days before the proposed termination of service. The posted 
notice will contain the information specified above. This notice provision applies to 
residential premises when the account holder has requested termination of service or the 
account holder has a delinquent bill. If nonpayment is the basis for the termination of 
service, the Company will also advise the tenants that they may continue to receive utility 
service for an additional thirty (30) days by paying the charges due for the 30-day period 
just past. 

 
F12. Termination Hours. Upon expiration of the notice of proposed termination of service, the 

Company may terminate residential utility service. Except for service diversion or for 
safety considerations, utility service shall not be disconnected between Thursday at 4:00 
p.m. and Monday at 9:00 a.m. or on legal holidays recognized by Utah, or other times 
the Company’s business offices are not open for business. Service may be disconnected 
only between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. 

 
F13. Customer-Requested Termination of Service. The Customer shall advise the Company 

at least three (3) days in advance of the day on which he/she wants service disconnected 
to his/her residence. The Company will disconnect the service within four 
(4) working days of the requested disconnect date. The Customer will not be liable for 
the services rendered to or at the address or location after the four (4) days, unless access 
to the meter has been delayed by the Customer. 

 
F14. Non-Occupants. A Customer who is not an occupant at the residence for which termination 

of service is requested shall advise the Company at least 10 (ten) days in advance of the 
day on which he/she wants service disconnected and sign an affidavit that he/she is not 
requesting termination of service as a means of evicting his/her tenants. Alternatively, 
the Customer may sign an affidavit that there are no occupants at the residence for which 
termination of service is requested and thereupon the disconnection may occur within 
four (4) days of the requested disconnection date. 



Community Water Company Tariff No. 4 
Effective Date: June 1, 2018 
Filed Date: June 8, 2018 

Docket No. 17-098-01 

22 

 

F15. Restrictions Upon Termination of Service Practices. The Company will not use 
termination of service practices other than those set forth in these regulations. The 
Company shall have the right to use or pursue legal methods to ensure collections of 
obligations due it. 

 
F16. Reconnection of Discontinued Service. The Company will have personnel available 

twenty-four (24) hours each day to reconnect utility service. Service will be reconnected 
as soon as possible, but no later than the next generally recognized business day after the 
Customer has requested reconnection and complied with all necessary conditions for 
reconnection of service; which may include payment of reconnection charges and 
compliance with deferred payment agreement terms. 
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REGULATION G 

INFORMAL REVIEW, MEDIATION AND FORMAL REVIEW 

G1. Informal Review. A Customer who is unable to resolve a dispute with the Company 
concerning a matter subject to Utah Public Service Commission jurisdiction may obtain 
informal review of the dispute by a designated employee within the Division of Public 
Utilities. The procedures for informal review shall be as set forth in Utah Administrative 
Rule R746-200-8. 

 
G2. Mediation. If the Company or the complainant determines that they cannot resolve the 

dispute by themselves, either of them may request that the Division attempt to mediate 
the dispute, as set forth in Utah Administrative Rule R746-200-8. 

 
G3.   Formal Review. The Utah Public Service Commission, upon its own motion or upon    the 

petition of any person, may initiate formal or investigative proceedings upon matters 
arising out of informal complaints. 
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REGULATION H 
 
STATEMENT OF UTILITY CUSTOMER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

 
The Utah Public Service Commission has established rules about utility/consumer/ 

company relationships. These rules cover payment of bills, late charges, security deposits, 
handling complaints, service disconnection and other matters. These rules assure Customers of 
certain rights and outline Customer responsibilities. 

 
Customer Rights.  The Utility (Water) Company will: 

- Provide service if you are a qualified applicant. 
- Offer you at least one (1) 12-month deferred payment plan if you have a financial 

emergency. 
- Let you pay a security deposit in three (3) installments, if one is required. 
- Follow specific procedures for service disconnection, which include providing you 

notice postmarked at least ten (10) days before service is disconnected. 
- Advise you of sources of possible financial assistance in paying your bill. 
- Continue service for a reasonable time if you provide a physician’s statement that a 

medical emergency exists in your home. 
- Give you written information about Utah Public Service Commission rules and your 

rights and responsibilities as a Customer under those rules. 
 
Customer Responsibilities.  You, the Customer will: 

- Use services safely and pay for them promptly. 
- Contact the Company when you have a problem with payment, service, safety, billing, 

or customer service. 
- Notify the Company about billing or other errors. 
- Contact the Company when you anticipate a payment problem to attempt to develop a 

payment plan. 
- Notify the Company when you are moving to another residence. 
- Notify the Company about stopping service in your name or about stopping service 

altogether. 
- Permit access for meter readers and other essential Company personnel and equipment. 

 
To contact the Company, call the telephone number shown on your utility bill. 

 
If you have a problem, call the Company first. If you cannot resolve the problem, you may obtain 
an informal review of the dispute by calling the Utah State Division of Public Utilities Complaint 
Office at the following telephone number: (801) 530-7622 in Salt Lake City or (800) 874-0904 
Toll Free Statewide. 
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